E-Class Estate 2017 Hard Ride

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johntech

Car
MB E-Class Estate 2017
Hello from the Yorkshire Dales
I have always wanted a Mercedes Benz and finally treated myself to a E-class amg line estate car. The car is beautiful and as a retired engineer I can appreciate the quality of the car. BUT I find the ride quality is awful not at all what I expected from such a lovely machine ! Every pothole or crack in the road sends a shudder through the car also the hard seats do not help. I am sorely dissapointed as I expected to float along in luxury ! So how can I improve the ride? Firstly has anyone replaced the rock hard run flat tyres and if so did it make a noticeable difference ? Or has anyone fit smaller wheels and new tyres ? I find the low profile tyres to be ridiculous one cannot get anywhere near a kerb without acute worry ! Whilst I appreciate the car is designed for 100mph plus cruising this is not a perfect world and our roads are far from perfect. My general feeling is if that this near perfect vehicle ruined by the way it rides. What does the team think please!
Best Wishes fron the Yorkshire Dales (with lots of potholes)
John

Sounds like you should not have bought the AMG line version....with its stiffer suspension and lower profile tyres on bigger rims. I would expect anything related to AMG to be a be harder and more edgy. Did you not test drive it before purchase??? The only real option would be to chop it in for something more suitable as changing the suspension/wheels etc will just devalue it come sale time. Sorry to hear that your first Mercedes experience was not as you hoped for.