e55k Supercharge whine??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

merc85

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
CLK 500
I've seen lots of youtube vids etc with e55k's going mad and you hear the supercharger.

How loud should the charger be? can you hear it inside the car much? i've never heard mine inside but i have once outside.

Dont get me wrong the car flies, Really well, But ive not heard it?

I've had 300 hp cars and Brutus is another level but just wondering if the charger is working properly?

is there a way of checking? it has had a johnsons uprated pump btw and a pulley an map to suit its current mods.

Certainly could hear the 'charger whine in the CLS, especially as the revs rose. That high pitched whine along with the exhaust growl was very intoxicating.

And yes, I miss it ....

No i've heard the chirp just not the Howell/whine on boost ....... i'm going to use a private bit of tarmac with a friend to see if we can hear it ;)

I'm no mechanic but if you have a supercharger you will hear it if you don't you have an issue somewhere!

You'll hear the whine more if the charger spins faster (eg smaller SC pulley / larger crank pulley) and / or you get more cold air in via your intake.

That aside the cars are quite well sound proofed, plus if you have a noisy exhaust, then that may also lower the ability to hear the whine.

Jules

On my C32 I had the back opened up & a filter installed...you heard that OK:D

Could get a bit annoying on a longer trip, plus a E class is better insulated.
Thought you wanted a standard car...yours is one of the most modded :rock:...only kidding:thumb:

How old are you or more particularly your ears?

I rarely hear mine from inside the car, usually only when flooring it from very low speed when the ambient noise is much less, but my lad can hear it every time it kicks in.

Mine is a CLS though so the standard exhaust is much louder than an E.