empty space in footwell

Discussion in 'Interior' started by geoffk., Jun 5, 2002.

  1. geoffk.

    geoffk. Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    I took the passenger carpet out the other week, and apart from bieng typically mercedes, with a shaped foam backing, moulded round all the underfloor bits, there was this tin cover rising from the floor to the bulkhead, right where you rest your feet. I took this cover off, and there was absolutely nothing undernieth..... at least 2 inches of space deep, if not more, about a foot square.
    OK, so I know I have the base model (lucky I suppose) and some ECU must go there on a higher spec model, seems to me like a nice hole to stuff a modern digital amplifier &nbsp;<img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'>
     
  2. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    secret stash hole!!!
     
  3. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (Koolvin @ June 05 2002,21:20)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">secret stash hole!!!</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>
    yeah, put a safe in it <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'>
     
  4. Steve_Perry

    Steve_Perry Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,241
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Wales, U.K.
    Car:
    CLS350CDI Grand Edition
    My old 190E was exactly the same, I had a Becker Mexico 2000 stereo fitted, that has a separate amp from the head unit and that space seemed tailor made for the amp unit <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'>

    S.
     
  5. V12

    V12 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,610
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Location:
    Southampton
    Car:
    S320CDI LWB
    Not positive on that model, but on other 80's cars, they did indeed use that space for an amp...

    As is the case with 201's and 126's and probably your 124... <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'>
     
  6. domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    yeah...cool put in a Fusion D class amp.

    dom
     
  7. V12

    V12 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,610
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Location:
    Southampton
    Car:
    S320CDI LWB
    not THAT big... <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'>
     
  8. Malc

    Malc Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Thanks for the tip guys. I just put the control unit for a handsfree car kit under there. Out of the way, but reasonably easy to get at.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.