Enquiry for Maff

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by mapleleaf, Dec 4, 2002.

  1. mapleleaf

    mapleleaf Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    2015 E63 AMG - badged as an E350 :)
    Hi Maff,

    I noticed in the electronics part of the forum that you have succesfully retro fitted comand to an ML 270.

    this is exacty what I am trying to investigate. There seems to be some prewiring for roof aerials and also under the drivers seat but no one at the MB dealers around manchester can tell me what they are for??? they simply say my car is not prewired for comand and it cannot be reto fitted.

    can you help??

    steve

    ps sorry if this is the wrong place to post this enquiry
     
  2. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (steve_bcs @ Dec. 04 2002,12:06)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">I noticed in the electronics part of the forum that you have succesfully retro fitted comand to an ML 270.

    this is exacty what I am trying to investigate. There seems to be some prewiring for roof aerials and also under the drivers seat but no one at the MB dealers around manchester can tell me what they are for??? they simply say my car is not prewired for comand and it cannot be reto fitted.

    can you help??

    steve

    ps sorry if this is the wrong place to post this enquiry</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>
    you can fit comand to anything, including nissans and toyotas! <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wow.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':0'>

    Here it is in my w202 c-class (pre-dates comand&#33<img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=';)'>

    [​IMG]

    It is basically a headunit swap, only you have to add the satnav antenna. &nbsp;Don't listen to the stealership, they will only do things their computer tells them is possible, for warranty purposes etc. &nbsp;Have you spoken to Whitefield MB? &nbsp;I have my car serviced there and they had a play with the comand unit in my car, they were slightly mystified I think <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'> .
     
  3. Maff

    Maff Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Henley-on-Thames
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (steve_bcs @ Dec. 04 2002,12:06)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">Hi Maff,

    I noticed in the electronics part of the forum that you have succesfully retro fitted comand to an ML 270.

    this is exacty what I am trying to investigate. There seems to be some prewiring for roof aerials and also under the drivers seat but no one at the MB dealers around manchester can tell me what they are for??? they simply say my car is not prewired for comand and it cannot be reto fitted.

    can you help??

    steve

    ps sorry if this is the wrong place to post this enquiry</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>
    Hi,

    The face lift ML's are sort of pre-wired for it.

    You need to buy the new GPS/Tel/SOS roof aerial which goes in place of the blanking cap. The coax cable is already there and runs down both sides of the vehicle. When looking at the back of the ML, connect onto the left hand side coax (red i think)

    This terminates in a nice bundle behind the heater controls. Simply un-wind this bundle (also contains telephone wires which go back under the drivers seat) and purchase the COMAND harness/adaptor which converts the existing radio plugs and speed sensors into COMAND style plugs (C1 and C2 etc) this then plugs into the existing wires, and the back of COMAND.

    If your COMAND has come from an E-Class or so, you need to get the COMAND re-programed to be for an ML. This enables features such as auto lights on and gets rid of some error messages (in diag mode) about CAN bus etc.

    Drop me an e-mail if you want the specific part numbers that you will need and insturctions etc.

    Hope this helps! &nbsp;<img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'>
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mapleleaf

    mapleleaf Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    2015 E63 AMG - badged as an E350 :)
    Thanks Guys,

    I would appreciate part numbers and instructions but I can't find your email address matt. Koolvin has mine as I requested a password yesterday. you could just mail me I guess.

    Also, as I dont have a comand unit yet - I have looked on german ebay but cant find one for the ML. Does anyone know where I can get a second hand unit in the UK.I have tried numerous breakers yards for info on late model write offs but no joy.
    If I bought one from ebay for say a new CLK &nbsp;or C Class, who would do the reprogramming. ? &nbsp;As a last resort I will probably buy new from a dealership but enquiries to date have caused intakes of breath &amp; price estimates ranging from £2.5k to £7k!! but no exact price for the exact parts I need.

    thanks again

    Steve
     
  5. Maff

    Maff Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Henley-on-Thames
    Hi,

    The COMAND I have in my ML is from a CLK/E-Class from german E-Bay. There is a kind chap on the forum who reprogrammed mine.

    Drop me a line and i'll forward you some e-mails I have on this subject. Matthew @ PoundHost.com
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.