Europlug sockets

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

x332race

MB Enthusiast
Can anyone tell me if it is permissible under IEE regs to fit Europlug (Continental plug) sockets to a house in UK instead of standard 3 pin outlets?

I don't know the answer to your question, but why would you want to? When selling the house, with the new HIP packs when selling, a house with EU electrics would be at a disadvantage, I would buy a good supply of converters.

I don't want to fit them.....I am a surveyor and am looking at a house in UK that has them fitted....I am pretty sure that such sockets are not permitted by the IEE but cannot find any specific reference to this...I was hoping that someone on this site would be able to point me in the right direction...

Interesting thread... had a similar debate in Italy, where I wanted both Italian/Europlug sockets fitted as well as some UK/3-pin sockets fitted as I wanted to be able to travel "home" without having to use adapters.

I had bought some sockets from screwfix and brought them down, then presented them to our electrician. He was baffled, and went off to the architect (who has to approve pretty much anything in an Italian house). She in turn went to dig up the regulations, and it turns out that as long as the sockets had the appropriate EU "E" marking, they would be fine.

Sadly, the sockets I had has teh BSI kitemark, and not the EU marking, so they got rejected. On the bright side, the electrician did find some nifty sockets with both the 2-pin Italian and the 3-pin UK socket holes with the right e-markings... and fitted them...

I have the IEEE bricks at home, I can have a look when I get home tonight... but as long as the sockets have the relevant certification/approval; I don't see why not...

M.

Can anyone tell me if it is permissible under IEE regs to fit Europlug (Continental plug) sockets to a house in UK instead of standard 3 pin outlets?