Exhaust Sound Advice - I'm a novice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

R12-

Car
Mercedes C Class AMG
Hi Guys,

Please be patient as it's my first Mercedes I've purchased.

My only question was if it was possible to change the exhaust on my Mercedes C220 AMG to make it sound like the C63?

I know one may ponder as to why, but not all of us can afford the C63 and have to make do with what we can.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

R12-

why do people who own diesel cars wish to emulate Petrol cars from the same marque, seen it on honda and lexus forums also. You own a diesel, it will never be a petrol.

The guy did post he's a novice so I'm sure was looking for practical advice not sarcy comments ��

You can get a sports exhaust that will make it sound better, but not like a C63..... but do check out sports exhausts first as many can be boomy and reasonant at certain revs. I'm sure the good guys on here could point you in the right direction.....

That answers my question and I very much appreciate it.

I guess I'll need to focus my efforts on getting the C63 itself oppose to wasting money on converting.

Many thanks once again chaps.

I guess I'll need to focus my efforts on getting the C63 itself oppose to wasting money on converting.

Over the years I've seen many attempts at sports exhausts on diesels and none sound any better.

Your options are get a petrol C class. C350 maybe? Get conversion exhaust on that. Won't sound like a V8 but will be millions of times better and still frugal.

Anyway get some photos of your Merc posted :)

I have just had one of these systems fitted to my 320 cdi, its sounds great a nice burble on tick over and growl on boost, not boomy at all inside.

Shop - Ulter Sport

The car is also more free revving :) You will never get it to sound like a v8 mind lol. But you will certainly get many more miles from a tank of fuel:D