F1 2024

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've timed my upcoming trip to Melbourne to include a visit to Albert Park on March 24.
Did that in 2014. Brilliant experience, I hope you have an amazing time. 👍

It’s a funny old world!
After enjoying a career in motorsport as an engineer, I never dreamed of becoming an author, but that’s what happened last year and I continue to write a monthly column in Racecar Engineering magazine.

But a film star? I’m certainly never going to rival ‘uncle’ Steve, but to even be listed on a film promotional poster with the likes of Senna must mean I’ve got one foot on the ladder!:dk:🤣 They even spelt my name correctly :eek:

The film is being produced in Brazil and tells the life story of my very first racing driver Alex Ribeiro who won the Nurburgring F2 race in 1978 against an armada of works BMW powered cars. He then went on to become the pastor to the wildly successful Brazilian World Cup football and Olympic squads.
The title translates as ‘Miracle in the Green Hell’…Nurburgring.

c977dbe5-4473-4754-860c-26370212f8ec.jpg

This was only my 3rd ever motor race, and even stranger than that, the guy behind Alex was to become my longest continuous serving driver, Indy 500 winner Eddie Cheever. Eddie completed a 3 year sentence with me as his race engineer in the Silk Cut Jaguar era.
The 3rd place driver was called Rosberg, I wonder what happened to him?

Whatever next? A hit West End Musical perhaps?....oh no! I’ve already done that as a Sound Engineer back in the 70’s 🤣 😁

It’s a funny old world!
After enjoying a career in motorsport as an engineer, I never dreamed of becoming an author, but that’s what happened last year and I continue to write a monthly column in Racecar Engineering magazine.