"Fixed Price Repair" for brakes. Dealer honours website price.

Discussion in 'Wheels, Tyres, Brakes & Suspension' started by andyjenkins, Jul 16, 2011.

1. andyjenkins

andyjenkins Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    S204 C250 Sport
    Yesterday I popped into my MK MB dealership after my C250 BE kindly advised me that the MD of the dealership needed to go on holiday and needed my cash, sorry, I meant to say that my brakes needed checking.

Car has done 28k miles from new, and dealer advised that it needed new front pads and discs. OK - maybe I'm a slightly enthusiastic driver, but thats not the point of this message.

Dealer quoted me £388 and some pennies. On checking, I notice the MB website has states that for all C Class, front discs and pads costs a firm, and exact £300.

Popped an email off MB, and they called the dealer that same day. Result ? A refund of £88 and some pennies. I was told that the dealer "didn't think that the Sport applied to the offer". Do MB fit other (perhaps non vented) discs to non Sport variants of the C Class ?

So - if your having brakes done at a dealer and been charged anything other than what the MB website says - make a point to question it.

Andy

1 person likes this.
  2. A210AMG

A210AMG MB Club Veteran

28K miles for Discs ?

They didn't last long how many track days have you done :) :)

3. crockers

crockers MB Club Veteran

Car:
    XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
    28k is pretty heavy wear rate for the discs. My fronts lasted 50k ish rears on originals at 89k.

4. saorbust

saorbust Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    CLS350CDI
    Agree seems premature. Thought the car would warn you if the brakes are low.....

5. Sp!ke

Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    I did 190k miles on the same disks on my w124ce.

Granted it was a manual box but still....

6. markjay

markjay MB Club Veteran

Car: