flashing lights then car wont start...uuurrgghhh

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

niceguy2702

hi all, went out to start the car..it started albeit with an effort and when it started the red and green mirror lights where doing the flashy thing!!..so...turned of ignition....started agian but...battery sounded though it was dying!!...aa man came out...started straight away when jumped...tested the battery and when turned all elecs on when engine running the reading was dropping.....when turned everything off and the ignition..the meter read down to bout 11. 5 !!!..got me going...so i go 4 a drive......when i turned ignition off then on again..it started..but the red and green lights flashed again!!!..as you can probably tell..im no mechanic!!....so does anyone have any idea if it could be the battery or alternator?...any help would be appreciated....thanks..mr niceguy

niceguy2702 said:
hi all, went out to start the car..it started albeit with an effort and when it started the red and green mirror lights where doing the flashy thing!!..so...turned of ignition....started agian but...battery sounded though it was dying!!...aa man came out...started straight away when jumped...tested the battery and when turned all elecs on when engine running the reading was dropping.....when turned everything off and the ignition..the meter read down to bout 11. 5 !!!..got me going...so i go 4 a drive......when i turned ignition off then on again..it started..but the red and green lights flashed again!!!..as you can probably tell..im no mechanic!!....so does anyone have any idea if it could be the battery or alternator?...any help would be appreciated....thanks..mr niceguy

The red and green lights are the Alarm. When the battery power is low they will indicate a fault. Get battery charged, or changed if it does not retain a charge and all should be well again.