GAP Insurance

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gilberto

Buying on PCP
Do I need GAP insurance ?
If so where is best to purchase?
Thank you

Yes it is cheaper buying direct rather than via MB but apparently the payout ratio is something like 10% so it has been said they represent poor value for money. I have no experience of purchasing GAP or using it.

Got ALA as recommended by Honest John. Very reasonable.

sold my Nissan 18 months into 3 year deal tried to transfer policy and pay the extra premium for my cls ,I was told to cancel the policy and take the refund.not very helpful so i'll take my business else where

It's pretty tough mentally to bet £600 that you may total your new car. I've stayed away from it.

MartynW. Out of curiosity I looks at them just now. Much cheaper than MB

MartynW. Out of curiosity I looks at them just now. Much cheaper than MB

And they do a deferred 5 year, to start when car is a year old, plus their USP is paying max of 3 different valuations, which all seems OK to me, as I plan to keep the new motor for many years, having spent all my savings on it.:cool:

And they do a deferred 5 year, to start when car is a year old, plus their USP is paying max of 3 different valuations, which all seems OK to me, as I plan to keep the new motor for many years, having spent all my savings on it.:cool:

Sorry, but in what way does it make a difference as to paying out on the maximum of 3 valuations?
Gap insurance works in 2 ways.
1. If, when the car is written off, the amount of finance owed exceeds the purchase price of the car then the finance is settled.
2. If, when the car is written off, the invoice price of the car exceeds the amount of finance owed on the vehicle, then the invoice price is paid.

(Technically these are 2 different types of policy, one is Asset Protection and the other is Return to Invoice, but generally they are sold as a combined policy.)