Garage overcharging....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Fair play to the bloke.
Interesting no criminal charges have been brought against the garage. I wonder if any customers will now try to prosecute?

Fair play to the bloke.
Interesting no criminal charges have been brought against the garage. I wonder if any customers will now try to prosecute?

IANAL, but I would have thought they'd be pushing at an open door.....

IANAL, but I would have thought they'd be pushing at an open door.....

Please forgive my ignorance; assuming IANAL is not a statement of intent or desire, what does it stand for?

Please forgive my ignorance; assuming IANAL is not a statement of intent or desire, what does it stand for?

Sorry, I Am Not A Lawyer :)

Possibly, but I imagine there are a few pi**ed off owners who think they've been overcharged. All they would need is corroboration from the ex-employee that there was an £x overcharge......I think:dk:

It just goes to show that employment tribunals are to be avoided at all costs if you are an employer. I know that an ex-employer I worked for would always ask 'sacked' employees to sign a non-compromise agreement, and paying them handsomely to do so to prevent any come back after they leave the company.

The account figures really don't add up (No aspersion on firm - it may simply be how the website reports it).

Assets of £14k, liabilities of £110k but a net worth of £6K?

Creditors owed money by a court judgement* have no greater standing than others. I very much doubt a pre-pack would trouble anyone in those circs.

* not an exception as such but a recent divorce settlement allowed the wife to enforce possession of properties held within a company, a rare example of breaching the corporate veil.

Employee has a row with his employers.

Employee gets sacked.

Employee takes employers to tribunal saying he was treated unfairly.

Tribunal rules in favour of the employee.