GLE Coupe - Petrol or Diesel?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Edmiston

Car
VW
Hi all, Merc newbie here. Was working in the States for a few weeks there and our car while there was a really well specced C300. Anyway. It totally captured me. The cabin, the electronics, the 9G tronic, etc etc. We were looking at getting a new car before hand and were swinging back and forth between a Q7 or an X5/X6 but after my Merc experience I have decided to go for it and now have my heart set on a GLE Coupe.

Got my eye on a couple of pre-reg. One a GLE 43 and the other a GLE 350d. Both similar spec with AirMatic suspension etc. The petrol is £6k more expensive but willing to go the extra mile (or 6) if the petrol is simply a much better car. Any input and what is the better engine taking the following into consideration, in no particular order:
1. Driving will be mainly city/urban/B road during the week. Short trips/multiple short trips. Every other weekend longer motorway trips Ranging from 50-300 miles each way.
2. Future resale value.
3. Reliability and robustness. Is there a clear winner between Mercedes petrols and diesels?

The Mercedes V6 in the 350d is a nice engine. The V6 petrol engine is much better. It sounds better, it feels better, it is better. The diesel will give slightly better fuel consumption on long motorway journeys, but little difference during short trips. Resale of the petrol version is likely to be better in the current climate.

Reactions: GLK
The Mercedes V6 in the 350d is a nice engine. The V6 petrol engine is much better. It sounds better, it feels better, it is better. The diesel will give slightly better fuel consumption on long motorway journeys, but little difference during short trips. Resale of the petrol version is likely to be better in the current climate.