Hardwiring Dashcam Need help please

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by rayaans, Jan 30, 2019.

  1. rayaans

    rayaans Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Car:
    C180
    Hi, new member here just having bought a 15 plate C180 AMG Sport coupe with the Premium Plus pack.

    Now I have a dashcam which i intend to hardwire into the car having done this on my previous VW Golf.

    However, could someone point me in the right direction as the switched and constant fuses in the dash?

    Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. AltonAnt

    AltonAnt Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    615
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Car:
    2002 S203 C240
    Why don't you just keep trying them until you find one?
    If you use a fuse tap it doesn't matter where you tap off from.
     
  3. Sentralfyr

    Sentralfyr Member

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    Car:
    2015 S205 AMG
    I have installed a Dashcam in my 2015 C-class and i used these Fuses With "PiggyBack" and that works like a charm for me
    The fuse box are located in the end of the dasboard on Drivers side.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Sentralfyr

    Sentralfyr Member

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norway
    Car:
    2015 S205 AMG
  5. OP
    OP
    rayaans

    rayaans Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Car:
    C180
    Mine is a W204, not a W205. Do you remember what the fuses you used are for? Im only putting one dashcam on the front and using a piggyback fuse
     
  6. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    22,775
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    I used the live 12v wire from the OBDII socket. It's permanent on.

    I fed a QI wireless charger from it for my mobile phone.

    From memory the OBDII fuse is 7A so more than enough for the phone (1.0-3.1A), but you should check how much the dashcam consumes and also allow for other consumers on the same circuit.

    In fact a second lower-rated in-line fuse to protect the dashcam might be a good idea.

    If you need power with ignition, best place to get it is from the cigarette lighter socket, the fuse there is typically 15A.

    (My old W203 had a fusebox in the dash, so getting power was easy. My W204 however does not have a fuse box in the dask or anywhere inside the cabin, and I was reluctant to run wires through the bulkhead from the fuse box in the engine bay)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    rayaans

    rayaans Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Car:
    C180
    I've taken a look and there is a fusebox in the boot with a cigarette lighter fuse on 71.

    I might use this one and piggyback the fuse.
    Now the issue is running the wires across unless i find a fusebox in the dashboard which I'll look for tomorrow
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.