head gasket being done tomorrow on my vito 2000 108 cdi

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mustang

Car
ml 270 brabus d4,
hi all , any pointers in the right direction ? as you may remember i have been running around for 6 months with seal up in the water of my van. was going to replace the van in the summer but unfortuatly yesterday it went through to the oil being burnt and i stopped it. have booked tomorrow off work. have ordered the head and exhaust gaskets with head
strtch bolts. have a guy ready to mill the head ( hopefully a minimal amout .) any tricks to this job? what do i do with the timing and the drive chain for cam etc ? how do i seperate it ? any tips ?

cheers
shaun

Did you know that you will need new injector stretch bolts aswell ? and new seals. Sorry i dont know any tricks with this as i've only had the cover of exposing the cams. Actually one trick is cover the air pipe to the turbo so that nothing falls down it.

just found that out . will get them on order for monday unless i can pick them up in the morning with the head gasket . what a friggin pig. as its front wheel drive you cant get a slide hammer or normal puller on it due to height restrictions. people have said coke a cola or mr muscle . sod that , cut the rocker cover of and will pull them out properly and save a lot on not messing the injectors up compared to buying a 150 odd rock cover , must admit not impressed with the workability of the engine. rediculous , am looking at replacing it this year , but have looked at some revies on the newer shapes. around 07-08 , terrible reviews !! not sure what to do ??