Headrest DVD - hardwire to 12V supply?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ffej1405

Car
ML350 Bluetec
I'm thinking of getting these headrest DVD players.

XTRONS HD903 2x 9" Car Headrest DVD 32&8 bit Game Black on eBay (end time 22-Jul-10 18:00:33 BST)

I would like to hardwire the power using the 12v socket in the rear of the armrest. Question is - how do I remove the ashtray/storage compartment to get access to the rear of the socket?

Anyone fitted anything like this before - experiences? Was it easy (I'm very new with car electrics)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I bought some of these a few weeks ago and fitted them into my wifes Audi A4. I did have to purchase some 14mm poles to stop them wobbling about in the seat. Wiring them up was simple. I just spared them off the supply to the headunit. The tricky part was hiding the wires beneath the centre console. Took me about 2 hours start to finish.

I must say they are great value too!

To gain acces to the wiring for the rear socket lift the floor out from the centre consul , to do this simply lift the mat in the consul then where the 2 rectangular holes are in the floor insert a screw driver and push the screw driver sideways to release the clip , then the floor will lift out . The black / yellow wire is the postive for the lighter socket , and this is a switched live

I installed these last month. I just wired them to a cigarette lighter plug so the screen can be plugged into the rear 12v socket when needed.

Shorty - thanks. Just what I was after.

npuk - I am considering your approach - did you have to purchase the 14mm poles or do the supplied 10/12mm one fit?

I did purchase the 14mm poles incase I needed them but they were too big for my car so sent them back. The headrest pole holes seems to be about 13mm in my car and the 12mm were a little loose so I wrapped them with some electrical insulation tape before inserting them which made them a much tighter fit.