Helllo - I'm a Newbie seeking advise

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fakeindian

Car
SL55 AMG
Hi there,

I am new to the world of Mercedes and I have always had a soft spot for the SL55's so I have finally bit the bullet and decided to get one.

I am off to see this one tomorrow afternoon.*

Mercedes-Benz SL Class SL 55 AMG 2dr Auto 5.4 SUPERB EXAMPLE - FULL MERC S/H 2003

but the first thing I will be doing is changing the wheels - I need some advise and help on this - I have seen these*

19 INCH SL63 AMG MERCEDES ALLOY WHEELS | eBay

but I need to know:

Are they the correct fitment?

what are the best tyre sizes to get so that the traction control and speedo all work correctly - as well as best size for comfort without any rubbing?*

any help and advise will be gratefully received*

Thanks in advance*

Neil

Hi Neil,

Welcome to the friendliest forum on the planet!

The SL55 is an amazing car, that 55K engine will always put a smile on your face!

As for the wheels, don't be misled by that advert. This chap sells replica wheels and although he states they are made in Germany and all that, I beg to differ. Cheap replica wheels will crack and get out of shape rather quickly. There was a documentary on Panorama I think showing the dangers of buying them.

Personally, I'd buy the car and stick a wanted add on here for the wheels you want. Check this link below and it shows all the AMG wheels that will fit your car, it gives you the genuine part number and all the offsets too.

http://www.alloywheelsdirect.net/mercedes_alloy_wheels/sl_class_r230_alloys

All the best and keep us posted on the purchase.

David