Help with C230K 1997 air condtioning

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

idrisk

Help with C230K 1997

Hello, I am new to the world of Mercedes. I am planning to buy a Merc C230K on a 1997 plate for £4.5k, with 57000 on the clock. Everything about the car is ok except it does not have A/C .

Can I get an A/C unit installed ? does anybody have any ideas about this and also of approx. cost.

thanks
idrisk

Help with C230K 1997 air condtioning

I have posted this in the general forum too.

Hello, I am new to the world of Mercedes. I am planning to buy a Merc C230K on a 1997 plate for £4.5k, with 57000 on the clock. Everything about the car is ok except it does not have A/C .

Can I get an A/C unit installed ? does anybody have any ideas about this and also of approx. cost.

thanks
idrisk

Hi there,

It would not be financially worthwhile to have A/C retrofitted - the cost would be at the very least very high £££s, most likely £1000+ easily. If it is a major point in choosing a car, I would be inclined to look for another example that has A/C already installed (and check that it is working properly! ;) )

Good luck with the search :)

Will

standard or extra ?

Thanks Will, I would have thought that AC was standard though ? Do you know if A/C is standard or is it a optional extra ?

thanks

Will is right... a/c is extra. If you really want a/c then you are better off looking for another C230K as retrofitting whilst not impossible is prohibitively expensive. To fit a/c into a non a/c car requires ripping out most of the front dashboard as the heater matrix has to be changed. The centre console controllers are different and then of course you need to fit all the extra parts in the engine bay such as condensor, compressor etc.

Take a look at MBenzNL's web site to get an idea of how much work is involved, he fitted climate control but the a/c option would involve the same amount of work.

S.

Last edited:
thanks