Hid kits

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BlueSteelPoser

Car
mercedes benz c class
Hi, bit of a newbie here.
Basically I have an 02 plate c200 kompresser, does anyone know if this model is the model in which the hid kits are simple plug and play?

Welcome to the forum.

Search the forum, HID kits generate a lot of strong feelings.

They are illegal unless you have self-levelling suspension and head lamp washers under the Construction and Use regulations.

HID bulbs are also not designed to be fitted to lights designed for halogen bulbs so the light pattern will not be optimum and is likely to cause dazzle to other vehicles.

Try some uprated halogen bulbs like Osram Nightbreakers or Philips Xtreme..

It might also be worth looking at the reflectors and lenses on your current headlamps for signs of degradation which could reduce light output.

Ah OK, I was advised that night breakers wernt really any different and also still a very yellow colour?

Advised by whom?

Normal halogen bulbs should not provide a yellow light.

As said if your reflectors, lenses etc are in poor condition then you will still have poor light output.

It might also be worth checking that you have a full 12V supply at the bulb, poor connections can cause voltage drops and affect light output.

Whatever, fitting HID lamps is not the answer.

Just a friend so not a solid source tbh.
I'll have a look into the night breakers then first as they are not too pricey. Thanks for your help

I have Nightbreakers, they are bright white (not yellow).

They don't have the bluish tint of HIDs though and they are not self-levelling.

Had HIDs on the previous car, definitely a nice-to-have feature, but I would not go OTT and have these retrofitted to a car that did not have them factory-fitted - sounds like a lot of trouble for the benefit.