Home page changed & won't change back.

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by neilrr, Nov 4, 2008.

  1. neilrr

    neilrr MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Car:
    Various.
    Windows XP, Firefox.

    I installed BitZipper to try to open a compressed file (didn't work, file damaged) & it has changed my Home page to http://search.conduit.com/?ctid=CT1304867&SearchSource=13. I've since deleted BitZipper & BitZipper toolbar. When that didn't work I re-installed it & deleted it again, three or four times with no effect.

    I've tried going through Internet Options > Internet Properties > General & then typing the home page I want in the box (google.co.uk) to no avail. Even though 'www.google.co.uk' is the only thing that shows up in the box the home page is still http://search.conduit.com/?ctid=CT1304867&SearchSource=13.

    I've tried System Restore back to yesterday before I installed BitZipper but still have the wrong Home page.

    Everything else is as was & everything seems to work as before. How can I get rid of this?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2008
  2. andy_k

    andy_k MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,204
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Location:
    Bexhill, East sussex
    Car:
    Alfa GTV 3.0
    try it using regedit

    in the start menu RUN command promt type "regedit"

    go to the following location

    HKey_Current_User \ Software \ Microsoft \ Internet Explorer \ Main

    type in the name of the homepage you wish to use in the "local page" string

    if it changes back when you restart - you've got a nasty hiding somewhere on your system. Time For Hijack this, Malwarebytes or similar

    HTH

    Andy
     
  3. grober

    grober MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    26,471
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Car:
    W204 C200CDI Estate
    Try a system restore to a point before you downloaded Bit Zipper. Unlikely to work but worth a try.
     
  4. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
  5. OP
    OP
    neilrr

    neilrr MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Car:
    Various.
    andy,

    Tried it, no joy. www.google.co.uk shows up in the registry but Home page hasn't changed. I tried it for IE & Mozilla, was that the right thing to do?

    grober,

    Tried it, no joy.

    columb,

    Spybot installed but it won't allow me to update - tried restarting, deleteing & re-installing etc but still get "bad checksum" when I go through thr update bit.

    I ran it anyway & it found one registry change which I told it to fix. HP still wrong.
     
  6. andy_k

    andy_k MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,204
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Location:
    Bexhill, East sussex
    Car:
    Alfa GTV 3.0
    ok, try this.......

    download malwarebytes

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    1, Download the program installer but DON'T install it just yet

    2, restart your computer in "SAFE MODE WITH NETWORKING"

    3, run the installer for Malwarebytes

    4, let Malwarebytes update itself (this is why you used networking as it needs internet access)

    5, run the scan

    6, follow any on screen prompts to delete the nasties

    7, restart your computer normally
     
  7. OP
    OP
    neilrr

    neilrr MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Car:
    Various.
    Andy,

    Thanks again.

    If I attempt to restart firefox through Run > -safe-mode with (or without) networking all it does is open http://search.conduit.com/?ctid=CT1304867&SearchSource=13 in another window.

    What is this thing doing to my computer while I'm using it? What is it's purpose?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    neilrr

    neilrr MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Car:
    Various.
    I fiddled around with various settings and reset the home page to google.

    I don't know if this was malware or just part of the installation of this software that wasn't removed upon deletion.

    BitZipper looks like a legit company - http://www.bitzipper.com/

    Anyway, I have learned much more about computers over the last few hours. Unfortunately, I will have forgotten it all within a few days.

    Thanks to everyone for your help.
     
  9. andy_k

    andy_k MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,204
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Location:
    Bexhill, East sussex
    Car:
    Alfa GTV 3.0
    neil, you don't need to restart firefox in safemode :)

    copy the malwarebytes installer to your desktop

    then restart the whole computer using safemode (with networking).
    To do this, keep tapping the F8 key whilst the computer starts, if you get as far as the mormal windows screen you need to try again. Sooner or later, you'll be faced with the safe mode options - select safe mode with networking and let the computer start

    Once you are on the safemode desktop double click on the malwarebytes icon. It will start the program and ask you if you want to update it - select yes

    When that has finished, run the scan and see if it finds anything

    If it doesn't you should be in the clear, if it does, let it delete/tidy up
     
  10. verytalldave

    verytalldave Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Car:
    W203 C200K Cubanite
    Its a hijack redirect program.
    Either you - or somebody - downloaded something which has embeded itself into your PC.
    I presume you have anti-virus software. If so, then contact them and tell them exactly what is going on and they SHOULD advise you accordingly.
    One method of eradicating this most annoying bug is to download a small specialist program such as COMBOFIX.

    I answered a similar question a while back........
    http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=49326&page=2
    Read my post #17 for further info............

    Good luck as I know from personal experience just how annoying these redirects are...........
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2008
  11. AndyS

    AndyS Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    CLK 320 Elegance '99
    The best program I have found for getting rid of this is

    www.superantispyware.com


    Download the free edition, I have had a couple of hijacks on friends PC's and found this the best way to remove, thats including trying adaware

    otherwise download hijack this

    http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/tools/security_tools/hijackthis

    then you need to post the log that it produces on an anti malware forum like this one:

    http://www.techsupportforum.com/

    They will then analyse the log and hopefully give you accurate instructions for removal.

    Try superantispyware remover 1st though
     
  12. OP
    OP
    neilrr

    neilrr MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,235
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Car:
    Various.
    Done Spybot (updating now) & SUPER Anti Spyware scans & they found zilch.

    HP set on google now & everything seems OK.

    TVM everyone.
     
  13. robert.saunders

    robert.saunders Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,744
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    South Lincs / Hampshire
    Car:
    W210 E300TD
    I'm with Andy, malwarebytes seems to find 'em
     
  14. MikeL

    MikeL Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    646
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    Audi A4 3.0 TDI
    As an aside to the initial problem:

    izarc (CNET.com download link and reviews)

    Is a great "zip" utility


    Mike
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.