house renovation

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SilverSaloon

MB Enthusiast
Car
1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL
hi

we are currently looking at buying an old farmhouse, which will undergo a complete renovation. As we will be installing a whole new heating system, i was wondering if anyone has any experience of the following

- electric boiler (not the old night storage heating!)
- oil heating
- solar panels, wind turbines, generating electricity to the house.
- type of glazing (double vs triple)
- rainwater toilet flush

there is no gas to the property, so our choice is electric or oil. I have no direct experience of either so would be interested in people's views.

i like the idea of things like triple glazing, flushing toilet with rain water etc, and especially solar panels etc. I know you can probably get some sort of grants for this type of thing too.

Any specific brands/type that come recommended?

Cheers!

Derek

Underfloor heating connected to either electric boiler or ground source heat pump would work.

Before considering any heating applications think seriously about insulation, you can never have too much.
Tripple glazing isn't necessary with gas filled double glazing and thermal spacer strips.

You can get grants for Solar PV, but not DHW at present, but if you fancy DHW I can help.

Last edited:
Some info on the vegi site for renewables Derek.

We have a rainwater harvesting system. It was installed by the developers (new build).

Our system supplies all the toilets, garden hose and I believe the washing machine. It can be overridden to switch back to mains water at the flick of a switch too.

It's made by Rewatec and I believe they're German:

http://www.rewatec.de/

http://www.rewatec.co.uk/

I have a worcester oil boiler, a 3.5. You can't get them anymore because you have to install overly complex extra efficient boilers nowadays. The old tech was better.