How do I get speed cameras on my Satnav??

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Horrgakx, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. Horrgakx

    Horrgakx Active Member

    Messages:
    443
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    Uk, West Cumbria
    Car:
    Audi S4 B9
    Hi all - I just can't find a definitive answer as how to get speed cameras (or other POI's for that matter) on my COMAND ONLINE Satnav system.

    Does anyone know how??

    W205 C Class
     
  2. Jimbo147

    Jimbo147 Member

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Car:
    C63 AMG
    Hi
    I use pocketgpsworld.com
    Yearly subscription about £20, with weekly database updates, just download the personal poi database to the sd card and enable audible and visual warnings. Works perfectly. My car is a 2012 w204 c63. I would recommend this to anyone.
     
  3. developer

    developer MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    8,220
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Car:
    Volvo V90 D5 AWD
    I've done this ^^^ and it works well, though the mobile camera alerts are a bit random.

    The "boing" is rather loud, but that's a good thing.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Horrgakx

    Horrgakx Active Member

    Messages:
    443
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    Uk, West Cumbria
    Car:
    Audi S4 B9
    1 person likes this.
  5. malbry

    malbry Member

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Hi,

    An alternative speed camera database is at SCDB.info - Die weltweite Blitzerdatenbank. This has all the fixed speed cameras and traffic light cameras. Personally I find including mobile cameras leads to too many 'false positives' so I prefer not to include them. There is a Windows POI loader called MB POI Loader (Google will find it) that makes it easy to create the necessary files. Alternatively if you are on a Mac then I have my own program that does the same job.

    For general handing of Personal POIs, see here:

    Creating Personal POIs using Google My Maps - Mercedes Benz SLK Forum

    and here:

    Using Google Maps with Comand navigation - Mercedes Benz SLK Forum

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    Malcolm
     
  6. SoulOfUniverse

    SoulOfUniverse New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Car:
    C250 AMG 2014 (W205)
    Guys done everything according to instruction, generated PersonalPOIs.gpx file uploading it into SD card PersonalPOI folder, in Comand Online NGT 5 there is no Personal POI option, however I receive alert signal and warning but icons themselves are not displayed on road, anyone got a chance to make them appearing ? I have C250 AMG 2014 Comand Online NGT 5
     
  7. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,088
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    Are you saying your NTG5 is different from what everyone else have?

    C-Class - Interactive Owner's Manual
     
  8. reflexboy

    reflexboy MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,398
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Car:
    E350 CDi Sport&SLK250CDi AMG Sport
    Do I presume for the camera alerts to work I would need my Command to be permanently on the nav screen?
     
  9. malbry

    malbry Member

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    >> Guys done everything according to instruction, generated PersonalPOIs.gpx file uploading it into SD card PersonalPOI folder, in Comand Online NGT 5 there is no Personal POI option, however I receive alert signal and warning but icons themselves are not displayed on road, anyone got a chance to make them appearing ? I have C250 AMG 2014 Comand Online NGT 5

    There should be an option called "Visual warning for personal POIs" within the personal POI settings on your Comand system. Make sure this option is ticked.

    >> Do I presume for the camera alerts to work I would need my Command to be permanently on the nav screen?

    No. The acoustic warning will sound even if the map is displayed - providing your Comand system supports acoustic warnings for Personal POIs.

    Regards,
    Malcolm
     
  10. malbry

    malbry Member

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    >> There should be an option called "Visual warning for personal POIs" within the personal POI settings on your Comand system. Make sure this option is ticked.

    Just to add: icons are not displayed at all map scales. Try zooming in and out to see if they appear.

    Regards,
    Malcolm
     
  11. SoulOfUniverse

    SoulOfUniverse New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Car:
    C250 AMG 2014 (W205)
    There is no such option, I found that Comand Online 4.5 is completely different to Comand Online 5 - different options and setups, the only option I have is to show POI that's it, it looks like Comand Online 5 can't display icons and this is due to restrictions of software which been implied on a new car models 2014/2015 which has comand online 5.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Horrgakx

    Horrgakx Active Member

    Messages:
    443
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    Uk, West Cumbria
    Car:
    Audi S4 B9
    I tried doing all of this but the system doesn't recognise there's anything on the memory card.
     
  13. SoulOfUniverse

    SoulOfUniverse New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Car:
    C250 AMG 2014 (W205)
    I can get only audio alert and text at the top but no icon actually showed on the road while approaching, also it doesn't recognize gpx files it will only recognize .gpi file generated by POI Loader and file should be placed in POI folder, you can name it as you want.
     
  14. maverick512

    maverick512 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Car:
    MB B200 CDI
    My Garmin Map Pilot on Audio 20 does not recognize additional POI. I added the National Trust POI file in .gpi format to the SD card, folder POI. The SAT NAV does not recognize these POI , it just ignores the new file.
    I contacted both MB and Garmin customer services , but they provide little help referring me to each other. Any help will be appreciated.

    I would also like to add Speed Camera POI.
    Thank you.
     
  15. SG94

    SG94 Active Member

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Car:
    2015 C Class Sport Estate
    I have an extensive thread in PGPSW on this issue.
    Prepare to be disappointed.....
    :-/
     
  16. maverick512

    maverick512 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Car:
    MB B200 CDI
    Thank you SG94,

    Could you please give me a link to your posts on PGPSW, either via MBclub or directly to georgy27535@gmail.com.

    I have Map Pilot v5. Some people say that when they copied the .gpi files to the /POI folder on the SD card, it worked - on my system it does not.
    In addition to the National Trust POI I would like to add Cornish mine locations (available from Garmin website) and a few more.

    Regards
    Maverick512
     
  17. kkudi

    kkudi Member

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Car:
    GLA 220d 4matic Premium Plus AMG Line
    I'm also struggling to add POIs to my car. I believe I have NTG 5.5.

    Anytime I try to import Personal POIs, it's just stuck on Importing data (this may take several minutes).

    I dont know what it is I'm doing wrong
     
  18. nickpb

    nickpb Active Member

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    A180d Sport Executive
    Likewise. I've just got an E220 Estate 2017 and I can't see how to add the speed cameras. I've tried downloading the .gpx files and putting them in the PersonalPOI folder as others have suggested, but they don't seem to be recognised or loaded.

    Can anyone help please?
     
  19. malbry

    malbry Member

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Sorry Nick, you are out of luck. The functionality to load Personal POIs from SD card has been removed from NTG 5.5 on the new E class. There's no menu option to do this on your version of Comand. Sad but true.

    Currently for other 2017 cars with Comand, such as the kkudi's GLA, if you get stuck with the Importing Data message then cancel the message, start the car engine and try again. For some reason that I don't understand, the NTG 4.5 and NTG 4.7 variants will import POIs with the ignition turned off. More recent versions (NTG 5.0, 5.1, 5.2) require the ignition to be on.

    Regards,
    Malcolm
     
  20. nickpb

    nickpb Active Member

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    A180d Sport Executive
    Hmm, there must be a way it's just that we don't know what it is. Sounds like a challenge to me. First step, ask Mercedes (but don't hold your breath!)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.