How to identify full leather?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sladem

Car
C220D W205
Hi. Newbie here. I have a 2yo C220D. I bought it from the lease company having driven it from new.

I recently discovered a small 25mm rip in the leather seat cover and have started a warranty claim with DM AG. I've discovered it's not actually leather. I've spoken to several people at the dealer and they've given me different answers on the plastic seats stating mostly that they're more green and more durable and hard wearing however I don't consider a 2yo plastic seat with a rip either of these things.

I've started researching leather seats and have seen many for sale on ebay, just in case my warranty claim is refused. It seems to me that plastic seats have two rows of stitching doing down the front of the side supports whereas leather has only one. This is presumably because the manufacturers can't stretch plastic over the odd side support shape. I've tried contacting several of the breaker yards selling seats on ebay but oddly enough none have answered. I guess quite a lot of them are going to pass off plastic as leather. I wondered if anybody is able to confirm my theory on the side supports?

Hi. Newbie here. I have a 2yo C220D. I bought it from the lease company having driven it from new.

I recently discovered a small 25mm rip in the leather seat cover and have started a warranty claim with DM AG. I've discovered it's not actually leather. I've spoken to several people at the dealer and they've given me different answers on the plastic seats stating mostly that they're more green and more durable and hard wearing however I don't consider a 2yo plastic seat with a rip either of these things.