How to run two computers side by side ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Howard

MB Club Veteran
Car
2018 C63 Wagon / CLK430 / A150 / VW Pink Floyd Golf Cabriolet
Ok techie chaps and and boffin chapesses .....

I have bought another computer through the 'salary sacrifice' scheme at work :bannana: however, i want to run it through my existing monitor as it only comes with a 19" tft (piffle ;) ) , i would like to run both computers side by side and just 'switch' between them as and when i choose....

Presumably someone does a box that you just plug them both into , have one keyboard,mouse, modem and monitor etc and just press a button to select 'computer 1' or 'computer 2' :confused:

I'm on a budget ladies and gentlemen, so keep the ideas cheap please !! :eek:

Bear in mind i'm a complete computer novice !

make sure that the KVM you buy will run at the resolutions and the refresh rates you want, a colleague just bought one that falls apart if you want more than 800x600! :eek:

Howard said:
Presumably someone does a box that you just plug them both into , have one keyboard,mouse, modem and monitor etc and just press a button to select 'computer 1' or 'computer 2' :confused:

Forgot to mention, it really is as simple as plugging the PC into the KVM. Mouse port to mouse port, keyboard to keyb..... Then plug in the monitor, keyboard and mouse in to the KVM and flick between the two at will.

Don't forget, you usually have to buy the extention cables seperately, but check the link from the post above.

Next step is two network the to computers and your sorted! ;)

Alex

Last edited:
Wicked ..... sounds much simpler than i had imagined !!

can you run two pc's off one modem too ?

It depends on what sort of modem you are talking about.
If it is a standalone ADSL modem with an Ethernet connection then the answer is probably yes. Otherwise it is a lot more complicated.
Mac.