How to set up current road speed limit

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by johnem51, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. johnem51

    johnem51 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Car:
    MB E220 Bluetec 2015
    I have a 2015 E220 Bluetec and wonder if it is possible to get the Sat Nav to display the current road speed limit.
    I have not been able to find it in the available menus, but perhaps it is set via a different route.
    Any thoughts or advise please.
     
  2. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    6,123
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
    You need to have ordered Speed Limit Assist.

    It is possible to retrofit it, depending on what options the car has. Talk to Alfie at sales@comand.co.uk

    R
     
  3. dozypillock

    dozypillock Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    476
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Car:
    C209 CLK320
    I think he just wants the speed limit for the road he is on displayed in the sat nav? Not the car to be limited?

    Neil
     
  4. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,083
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    Right, but that is the question Richard answered.
     
  5. dozypillock

    dozypillock Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    476
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Car:
    C209 CLK320
    I did not realise some sat navs have extra options that need to be paid for? and that he was just asking where the settings were.
    I assumed he meant the speed limiter which on mine is an add-on, and is incorporated into a stalk, and has nothing to do with the satnav.

    Neil
     
  6. OldTimer66

    OldTimer66 Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    C200 Sport Estate S205
    I asked this question a week or so ago in antcipation of my newly ordered W205. The Garmin displays current speed limits (where known) but I guess you have the Comand on the E class so it may be different?
     
  7. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,083
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    OK, I have to say I find it very difficult to interpret your earlier post that way (rather the exact opposite) but it must be just me.

    Hopefully the OP got the right answer, all that matters anyway.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    johnem51

    johnem51 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Car:
    MB E220 Bluetec 2015
    Sorry, I seem to caused myself more confusion. On my old standalone sat nav it would display the current road speed limit, albeit not always up to date where the speed limits had been recently changed.
    I had hoped that the vastly more sophisticated system fitted to the E220 would also be able to be set to display the current speed limit for the stretch of road that the car is on.
    Having read that there might be the possibility of creating POI on an SD card, is there a simple setting that I have missed that would switch this indication function on.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.