I need help/advice about buying this W124 Convertible

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

S9KSY

Car
1995 W124 E280 Estate
Hi everyone
It seems that my search for my future E320 convertible W124 may finally prove fruitful. :)
In this search, the awesome advice that you gave me in this forum was beyond my expectations and I am extremely grateful to everyone who took the trouble in giving their point of view, suggestions and recommendation.:thumb:
I have found a 1993 low mileage cabriolet from a respectable dealer in North London off Junction 25 of M25.
As I am no expert in cars, I would really appreciate it if someone would be able (or knows someone who is) to help in checking this car before buying it.
Although it will be deeply appreciated, I am not expecting a “free” service from the goodness of your hearts. I am more than happy to pay for the expertise, time and efforts, in addition to expressing my gratitude and a pint in the sunshine on me.
I need to do this before Monday. I may go with you to view the car at anytime in your convenience.:)

Last edited:
HAVE YOU SEEN THIS THREAD? http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/general-discussion/91189-w124-cabrio-depth-article.html

Can't help---- too far away :( but check for all the W124 weakness then add all the items peculiar to cabriolets--- in particular the roof+mechanism and the automated rear roll over headrests.Look also for signs of water ingress --damaged trim carpets seats these can be refurbished but water leaks can play havoc with several rather expensive electrical control units hidden about the car. Look for a well looked after car with an extensive documentation and continuous service record and check mileage from the MOT certs. HOPE YOU GET SOMEONE TO HELP YOU.

what is the price they are asking for it, i also warn you if u look in ebay there is non running one with suspected wire loom problems, good luck

Hi everyone