I want the digital speed to be in mph NOT kph

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by flowrider, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. flowrider

    flowrider MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,905
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    SL500 (R230)
    Is there a way to force the digital speed readout in the multifunction display to be in mph and not kph in a 2009 ML320. This is one of the options that the manual states is not available for cars with a speedometer in mph which along with some other options being unavailable for the same reason is ludicrous.

    David
     
  2. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    24,989
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    On some cars it is possible to unlock features using the STAR diagnostic tool. If your car is one of those, then you can 'delete UK mode', and this will remove the Km/h display and allow you to choose what you want there from a number of options, as the the (international) owner's manual.

    Alfie and Richard would know if this is applicable to your model (they have done this on my C-Class).
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    16,122
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    If your car does not have dual mph and kph markings on the speedo, then you cannot change it. The only way is via STAR. But, unless you get it changed back you will fail the MOT, because you must display both in the UK.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Red C220

    Red C220 MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,197
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    2015 SL400 : 2017 S6 Avant
    As I understand it, it's a legal requirements for cars with MPH speedos to display KMH also - probably some EU legislation.

    Mostly to do with taking the car to the European mainland.
     
  5. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    24,989
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    renault21ts, I do not have any specific knowledge if it is indeed a legal requirement to have the speed displayed in both Km/h and MPH, and even if it is so, I have no specific knowledge whether this is included in the MOT test procedures... so I can neither dispute not agree.

    However, I know of many cars who had this 'delete UK mode' done, and none failed on MOT AFAIK... in fact I doubt that MOT testers would even bother looking for it.

    So I don't know about the legal status, or about the MOT test producers... but I can tell you that in real life this just does not happen, i.e. MOT failure following 'delete UK mode'.
     
  6. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    24,989
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    Indeed, I think this will only be an issue if you take the car to Europe - but even so you can still choose to have the Km/h speed displayed... the difference is that the 'UK mode' locks it so that this option can not be de-selected. If stopped, and your display is configured to shows Km/h, I can't see anyone giving you a hard time over the fact that if you wanted to you could have removed the Km/h from the display...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    flowrider

    flowrider MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,905
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    SL500 (R230)
    Why don't Mercedes just print kph on the speedometer? and let us decide what is displayed on the multifunction display. I find it very distracting to have the kph displayed. In fact it is annoying.

    Will a MB dealer disable UK mode for me?

    David
     
  8. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    16,122
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    Apologies for generalising. It appears the MOT in GB is not as comprehensive as the MOT in NI. In NI the speedo is checked.
     
  9. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    16,122
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    They do on mine. So I can change the digital read out to KPH or MPH, and I can view it on the dash, or in the climate control display. The newer ones don't have this.
     
  10. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    16,122
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    ...or the Republic of Ireland.
     
  11. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    Not possible to disable UK mode via STAR on a 2009 car.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. DSM10000

    DSM10000 MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    6,906
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Near Salisbury
    Car:
    E32O CDi Sport, MX5 1.8 Sport, RR 4.2 SC

    What about a 2003 C class?
    I could see it being useful on the continent but I do not drive abroad and the digiital display is easier to take in at a glance than the standard speedometer display, it also seems to read differently even allowing for conversion.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    flowrider

    flowrider MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,905
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    SL500 (R230)
    Do you know that for a fact? If this is fact then I am very disappointed as I find the kph digital readout very distracting.

    Thanks

    David
     
  14. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    Yes I know that for a fact, Richard from Comand Online confirmed it cant be done on newer cars when I took my car to them for coding.

    Yes, many people have had it done on their W203.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2011
    1 person likes this.
  15. OP
    OP
    flowrider

    flowrider MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,905
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    SL500 (R230)
    In that case I will have to stick a piece of black tape over it. :mad:

    David
     
  16. crockers

    crockers MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    7,099
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    North Wilts
    Car:
    XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
    I don't think it's law that a UK car has to display KPH but it does have to have the ability to do so.

    If that makes sense.
     
  17. davidjpowell

    davidjpowell MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,895
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Car:
    Range Rover Vogue, Volvo XC60 and crappy Pug 307
    Can't be right.

    Espace speedo switches between mph and kph, not capable of showing both.

    I'd be surprised if this is different for the NI market.
     
  18. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    16,122
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    But you can show either...so no problem.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    flowrider

    flowrider MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,905
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    SL500 (R230)
    If you had the option on the ML you could do the same but MB won't let you decide for yourself.

    David.
     
  20. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    24,989
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    Now that you mention it... so does my Renault Scenic (digital dash).
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.