Icarsoft MB V2.0

BKemp

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Louth
Car
C Class 220CDI W204
Evening all,

Well after a woeful day I thought I would reach out here for some advice.

I bought an Icar soft MB V2.0 to diagnose a fault code on my 2011 W204 Diesel after it began to display "no abs/esp inoperative" warning was shown on the dash.

No i received the unit this morning and plugged it in. Ran a scan and it didn't pick up any fault codes.

I ran through several tests and nothing was found.

So I decided to disconnect. I went to run the car but now it feels like the electronic parking brake is engaged when I try to drive. The car drove normally even with the codes showing.

I'm flapping now as I haven't changed anything in the settings.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

OneForTheRoad

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
4,060
Location
uk.
Car
2017 e350 c207 .. +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
Any fault codes in the obd2 section. ?
 
OP
OP
B

BKemp

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Louth
Car
C Class 220CDI W204
No. I'm now getting a warning message saying there is issue with the memory card and it won't let me access the diagnostic section.

I've tried to upload the photo but it keeps saying file to large.
 

OneForTheRoad

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
4,060
Location
uk.
Car
2017 e350 c207 .. +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
No. I'm now getting a warning message saying there is issue with the memory card and it won't let me access the diagnostic section.

I've tried to upload the photo but it keeps saying file to large.
Weird. Try popping it out and put it back in.
 
OP
OP
B

BKemp

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Louth
Car
C Class 220CDI W204
Weird. Try popping it out and put it back in.
Before I balls things up anymore there is section in the icarsoft where it says the memory card can be formated. Is this something that needs done?
 

OneForTheRoad

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
4,060
Location
uk.
Car
2017 e350 c207 .. +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
Before I balls things up anymore there is section in the icarsoft where it says the memory card can be formated. Is this something that needs done?
No. You'll wipe it. Transfer the data to a laptop first .
 

zipdip

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
4,162
Location
Essex
Car
s320
Just a thought did you buy the MB V2 from a official dealer there are clones about.
 

OneForTheRoad

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
4,060
Location
uk.
Car
2017 e350 c207 .. +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
I was going to say , try updating it using icarsoft downloader. Guy seems to have enough to deal with ....
 
OP
OP
B

BKemp

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Louth
Car
C Class 220CDI W204
Just a thought did you buy the MB V2 from a official dealer there are clones about.
Offical dealer. I did read about the cheap clones prior to buying.
 

merc07

Active Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
550
Car
C350cdi & C220cdi
Mine did the same, just format the card in your laptop/PC.
 

Datadogie

Active Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
131
Location
Aberdeen Scotland
Car
C180 Komp 2005
I just fixed my c180 with the same fault. The iCarsoft will tell you which sensor is at fault. In my case was front right. I replaced with a new sensor but the fault was still there. After googling I changed the seal ring behind the hub. (It just looks like a bearing seal and nothing visually wrong with the old one) Took me around an hour and a half start to finish. Including washing my hands. Test run and all is well. PS self cancelling did not need the ICarsoft to reset.

State: Historic

L6/2(right front speed sensor): Clean multipole

ring and replace if necessary
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
B

BKemp

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Louth
Car
C Class 220CDI W204
Just an update ,

Got the tool working again and it from what I can make out its the offside front ABS sensor.

Now I've jacked the car up, an there is a very slight vertical play from the wheel so I suspect the wheel bearing is on the way out. Reading through some of the posts this can cause the sensor to miss read on the ABS ring and cause the codes.

Now I managed to clear the codes however when I went to drive the car the ESP/TC kicks in under normal acceleration braking the car.

When I dissabled the TC through the dash this allowed the car to drive, but flung all the previous codes and lights up.

So I'm hoping its just a wheel bearing I need.

I would just like to say, I appreciate all the help from you guys. Thank you.
 

Datadogie

Active Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
131
Location
Aberdeen Scotland
Car
C180 Komp 2005
Tap the wheel hub knob off. You need an Allen key to slacken the pinch bolt then tighten up the hub nut and re-tighten the pinch bolt. This might be enough to keep you going.
 
OP
OP
B

BKemp

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Louth
Car
C Class 220CDI W204
Tap the wheel hub knob off. You need an Allen key to slacken the pinch bolt then tighten up the hub nut and re-tighten the pinch bolt. This might be enough to keep you going.
My local garage is literally less than a mile away. The car is with them now to have the wheel bearing done.

Unfortunately I don't have the space now to start pulling things apart.
The garage is a BMW specialist 😆 however they are good mechanics and its good to support our local businesses at the moment however simple the job.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom