Icarsoft mbv2

Discussion in 'Parts, Maintenance & Servicing' started by BIG_G_1979, Feb 14, 2020.

  1. BIG_G_1979

    BIG_G_1979 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    E280 CDI SPORT
    Hi guys I have a mbv2 and although it shows air filter level it doesn't seem to allow a reset (adaption) for when a new filter is fitted. Question is I'm I missing the menu and second question is how important is it really to have the adaption performed when fitting a new filter?

    X218 cls 250cdi (om651)

    Thanks

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
  2. ash59fifty-uk

    ash59fifty-uk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,686
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Location:
    The shire
    Car:
    W204 C63, Ford Transit
    Did you update it on their website before use? I didn’t when I got mine, and I was missing a lot of functions (c204)
     
    GLK likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    BIG_G_1979

    BIG_G_1979 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    E280 CDI SPORT
    Yeah mate it's on latest firmware, I've contacted them directly and await their feedback pretty silly if it can't do that simple task

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  4. OneForTheRoad

    OneForTheRoad Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,327
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    uk.
    Car:
    2015 w204 c class amg sport premium +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
    Is this not part of a " b " service . Which shows on the dash when the time comes. If so its easy enough to reset via the dash options.
     
  5. Justintyme

    Justintyme Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Ireland
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz w212 E Class
    Any chance you could put up a screen grab of the latest update for your MBV2? ( Its the iCarsoft MBV2 you are using? ) or at least the Nr of the upgrade? Last update I got from iCarsoft was in March 2019. Thanks
     
  6. OP
    OP
    BIG_G_1979

    BIG_G_1979 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    E280 CDI SPORT
    Sorry mate I can't as currently on company business however from memory it's 11.30

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  7. Justintyme

    Justintyme Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Ireland
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz w212 E Class
    Ok,,,on mine as from this evening it's 11.61, so should be OK; Here is a screen grab of the download:
    Thanks for your help !! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  8. OP
    OP
    BIG_G_1979

    BIG_G_1979 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    E280 CDI SPORT
    Oh wonder if there's a new update for mine then? Do you know whether you can reset the air filter with this new update?

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  9. Justintyme

    Justintyme Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Ireland
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz w212 E Class
    If it's 11.61, that's the latest one from 14th. Feb. If not then download it, and run a scan, see what faults are stored. I did not have to reset the air filter in mine after replacing it. Are you having a problem with your's?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    BIG_G_1979

    BIG_G_1979 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    E280 CDI SPORT
    No mate not having any problems just keep reading that when you fit a new air filter it should be reset on xentry, I bought the mbv2 thinking it should be able to cover these basic things rather than me having to get it out on Star just for a filter reset

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  11. Justintyme

    Justintyme Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Ireland
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz w212 E Class
    Thats the first that I have heard about resetting after an air filter change. I changed the engine air filter on my w212, no problem with resetting etc........opened the box, removed the old filter, replaced it with the new on, closed the box, replaced the engine cover etc. Job done !!! And no fault codes stored, or dash warning lights on . Let me know how you get on, OK? :)
     
    BIG_G_1979 likes this.
  12. OP
    OP
    BIG_G_1979

    BIG_G_1979 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    E280 CDI SPORT
    Will do mate I've contacted icarsoft for advice, the "air filter adaption" should be reset when changing the filter. I had to do it on my w211

    Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  13. ToeKnee

    ToeKnee Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    699
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Location:
    leicestershire
    Car:
    R230 SL500 in teal blue, R231 SL500 in black. Vauxhall insignia diesel
    For some reason I seem to remember that air filter adaptation only needs doing on some diesel models? I may be wrong of course.......
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  14. chrisk2010

    chrisk2010 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    939
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    C230 w203
    I could be very wrong but I think it's more like and ECU reset (running a reset program).

    I have asked this question before and one dealer will say yes it needs resetting while another will state the car will figure it out itself.

    For this reason I figured that if I changed filter once a year mid service intervals then the car will figure it out for itself given the various readings from the engine will never be to far out from one change to another causing less impact. Plus filters are fairly cheap so why not.

    One dealer did say that they only really need resetting when the filter is completely choked up as the engine will be getting a load of air that is not ready for which in time will even it out but initially will throw out various pressures across the engine.

    If Icarsoft can't do it I'm sure a local indy will do this pretty cheaply.
     
    Justintyme likes this.
  15. Justintyme

    Justintyme Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Ireland
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz w212 E Class
    Maybe it needed resetting in the 211's ( or earlier model's ?) Otherwise, it would make more sense to do a reset after replacing a blocked filter? I would think that when the filter blocks, it would trigger warning light's and codes? i must have a look at my ( newly arrived ) iCarsoft CR Pro, and see if it's listed there.
     
    BIG_G_1979 and chrisk2010 like this.
  16. chrisk2010

    chrisk2010 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    939
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    C230 w203
    The filters would be designed to work at maximum tolerances with the car. To throw up any codes I would imagine it’d pretty much to have sucked up concrete restricting the air flow to such a degree it would be starving the engine of air altogether.

    In real world driving I don’t think it’s too much to worry about which is why opinion differ from dealer to dealer.

    The proper way would be to do a reset as per the mb book but to be fair I think you’d have to take part in a Top Gear special to attempt to throw any codes up.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.