IE window size query

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by Stratman, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. Stratman

    Stratman Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Sunbury
    Car:
    W203 C200 CDI '04Estate
    IE7 on WinXP SP3

    I have IE set to open with the window size maximised. When a link opens a new window, unless said link contains an instruction as to what size this new window should be, it takes on the size of the last window to contain such an instruction. I want the new window to open maximised, but I cannot 'force' it to do so by default. I have tried all combinations of Shift, Ctrl and Alt while closing the window but it stubbornly reopens with the last forced size.

    Can anyone tell me where the "New IE window size" setting is stored?

    I am quite happy editing the registry and suchlike.
     
  2. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  3. OP
    OP
    Stratman

    Stratman Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Sunbury
    Car:
    W203 C200 CDI '04Estate
    Agreed. It should behave like that but it doesn't. As indeed it doesn't for many of the posters in the linked thread. Handy link to iemaximiser though, I'll give that a try.
     
  4. Dieselman

    Dieselman Banned

    Messages:
    34,206
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Car:
    Peugeot 403 Convertible
    It just worked exactly as Del320 said for me.
    Open window, maximise it, hold Ctrl and close all windows.

    It doesn't work if you just close the new window.

    Thanks Del.
     
  5. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    Switch to firefox and tabbed browsing!

    [​IMG]

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  6. dsolds

    dsolds Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    dubai
    Car:
    Range Rover Vogue SE
    Better still, Opera.
     
  7. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    Speaking as someone that probably abuses the web more than most and someone time served in the sharp end of IT. I have to say that I see more problems with Firefox than I.E.

    About 5% of the sites I visit simply don't render properly with firefox, shopping carts barfing at the CC stage, embeded content often blank ...many many problems indeed. The amount of times I have a laugh at the unix guy sitting opposite me cursing because he cant load the same page as I using either Opera or Safari or Firefox.

    I.E7 is a retrograde step in the wrong direction too. Still running I.E.6 here. No toolbars, temporary internet file size reduced to 1mb and only 1 day of history and it flies, far quicker than any of the latest generations of browsers, it renders everything correctly and at last count i.e has less vulnerabilities than firefox too.

    The way you go on about firefox Columb, you sound like a Jehova. :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.