Imac extra Ram

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by nigel cross, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. nigel cross

    nigel cross Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,410
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    W164 ML350 Audi S4
    Thinking about increasing my ram, got 4gb already, and to increase to 16gb is only £150, working on the idea that you cant have too much memory, is it worthwhile? and will I notice the difference.
     
  2. crockers

    crockers MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,099
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    North Wilts
    Car:
    XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
    Bought mine with 8mb....runs most thinks very very smoothly.
     
  3. oldcro

    oldcro Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Shetland
    Car:
    Range Rover Sport 3.0 HSE
    Oops! mis-read post.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. agatward

    agatward Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Reading, Berks.
    Car:
    A150 SE
    More RAM is always a good upgrade for a modern system, as even if the system doesn't need it for applications it will usually increase the size of the file system cache, increasing responsiveness.

    As for whether your system can take it, it depends on the iMac. 2008 models have a limit of 4GB due to chipset configuration. 2009 models 'can' take up to 8GB but it's unsupported. 2010 models can take up to 16GB.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. camerafodder

    camerafodder Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,529
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    South Lakes (UK) and Colorado
    Car:
    VW Touareg V6 Altitude, Toyota IQ2
    Maybe it will make for a 'smoother' operation. :)
     
  6. Pontoneer

    Pontoneer MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    12,065
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Car:
    '93 190E 2.3LE W201 ; '93 300SL-24 R129
    I maxxed out the RAM in my G5 from the supplied 1Gb to the max possible 8Gb . This made a HUGE difference in render times for video editing , although it is less noticeable in photo processing , which is less demanding .

    My dual 2.5Ghz G5 now runs faster than the Dual 3.0Ghz MacPro's at work which only have a measly 1Gb RAM as bought .
     
    1 person likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.