iMac memory

Discussion in 'OT (OFF Topic) Forums' started by oldcro, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. oldcro

    oldcro Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Shetland
    Car:
    Range Rover Sport 3.0 HSE
    Upgraded my iMac memory yesterday from the standard 4GB to 16GB. Price from Apple is £480 when ordering on line. Ordered from Crucial and delivered 36 hours later for a total price of £86.35, a saving of £393.65.:bannana:
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Beetnik

    Beetnik Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Car:
    Volvo V60 2.4 bi-turbo: SLK 200
    :eek: Major shock as Apple customer discovers Apple charges over the odds :eek:
     
  3. A210AMG

    A210AMG MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    8,475
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    England
    ^ We do this all the time,

    Apple memory is a joke.

    My last order was for 300 21.5" iMac imagine the addtional costs on these using apple...
     
  4. OP
    OP
    oldcro

    oldcro Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Shetland
    Car:
    Range Rover Sport 3.0 HSE
    I posted so that any member choosing an Apple computer on line should think twice about adding memory from the options list. Not all members are computer savy or IT experts, so a timely reminder with Christmas not far away.
     
    3 people like this.
  5. A210AMG

    A210AMG MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    8,475
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    England
    ^ your right

    My dad would go on the apple website and as if choosing a car add the mac and then your lead to options.

    If he wanted 8gb instead of 4gb as he knows more is good... He would just tick the option.

    Completly unaware that it costs maybe half less or more elsewhere and only a few screws to change.

    Your right Good post
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. HughJarse

    HughJarse Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    North East
    Car:
    c250
    Although I absolutely agree... what on earth are you doing on your mac that requires 16gb of memory???
     
  7. OP
    OP
    oldcro

    oldcro Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Shetland
    Car:
    Range Rover Sport 3.0 HSE
    I'm hoping it will speed things up when working on HD movie clips, no not that type of movie I should add.
     
  8. crockers

    crockers MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,099
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    North Wilts
    Car:
    XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
    I have 8GB and it fair flies. Not sure if mine can take 16GB. It's a twin core 27". If you have an i5 or i7 core with 16GB it must be very quick indeed.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    oldcro

    oldcro Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Shetland
    Car:
    Range Rover Sport 3.0 HSE
    Yes I have the 27" i7 model with a 3.4GHz processor, an unexpected purchase due to the Apple store having one in stock. An expensive visit considering I only went in to buy a camera connection for the iPad 2.

    Have not tested it at full speed yet as I'm still running it in.:)
     
  10. flango

    flango MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,993
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gods own country
    Car:
    Mercedes SLK R171
    Corrected that for you :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.