Inflatable Kayaks & Canoes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted96908

Hey Folks -

I am off to Cornwall for a few weeks and fancy doing some inshore (coves, bays etc) paddling with Mrs P. Not sure I want to fit a roof rack on the A5, so was considering getting an inflatable sit-on-top or similar.

Does anybody have experience with inflatable kayaks and canoes? Must admit, I've never considered them before, but my next door neighbour takes his on the Thames most weekends and he's not had a problem so far.

Now my obvious worry (apart from lack of experience) is that the things will get a puncture or are they much more hardy than that? I should imagine with the cheaper end of the spectrum that might be the case? But I am thinking at the £1000+ mark, they should be a little more resilient.

Any experience of the above, including don't be silly, would be most welcome.

Some I found earlier.

I have no experience of this product but having been tempted to go down the path of a folding or inflating kayak or canoe a while back it si the one I found quite intriguing: Oru Kayak - www.orukayak.com.

(I was talked out of it by SWMBO: "How often would you actually use it ..... seriously ..... think about it .... how often?").

Seeing as Its Cornwall Chris, would you not be better hiring one when there.. there will be plenty of places I'd think for this type of thing, as Its a surfers/ out door sports paradise... just don't "Fart and fly out the window" on yer inflatable..:D (Old Joke Punchline)

Hi,
Even though you are originally from a sea faring location, the tides can be unpredictable and quite rough at this time of the year, which I am sure you will know.
In my sea fishing days of many moons ago, we would often try Clovelly ( North ), Porthleven or Penzance ( south ) for a couple of days, and many times if we had booked a boat the trip would be cancelled because of rough seas and adverse weather.