Intermittent SLK 171 ignition problem

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

topradio

Car
SLK 280
Hi all & thanks for such a great informative site. This is my first post but I hope to be able to contribute more over time.

My o/h has owned a 2008 R171 SLK280 from new. when it was about 3 months old it developed a problem where the smart key would remotely unlock the doors but when inserted in the ignition it was not recognised. Normally there is a buzzing sound (steering lock?) and the displays light up but in this case this does not happen and the key obviously won't turn. As the car was under warranty we called out MB support and the chap that came out fixed it and said that he had done a 'hard reset'.

Now it has done the same thing intermittently perhaps 5 or 6 times in the last 8 years and I have simply left it for a few hours and it miraculously works fine. When it happens both keys are affected.

I am an electronics engineer and the fault 'feels' more like a bug rather than hardware. However I have searched a number of forums and can't find anybody reporting exactly the same fault which is surprising as I usually find that most problems like this are common and many people report suffering the same thing.

Has anybody else had this happen and is it a known problem?

Many thanks for your help.

Update

I thought I would update you on this problem.

I have left the car for 24 hours but the problem still exists.

Thinking about it, it only happens when the car has been left unused in the garage for perhaps a couple of days and NEVER when out and about. Now the whether is starting to get colder here and the battery is the original one. I measured the battery voltage and it was 11.95 volts which didn't seem bad and when working cranks the car over just fine. I connected up a charger and immediately tried the key in the ignition and hey presto it works!