iphone 5 connect by cable?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jonnyswamp

Car
clk 320 cdi
Hi all, newbie here, I have just bought my first MB a 57 plate clk 320 cdi
with command colour sat nav. I have tried the search facility on here but just got more confused...

I have a "socket" in the centre console which I presume is for a phone
I don't think the car has built in blue tooth, so could I buy a cable to connect my iphone 5 to the socket in the console and if so what features would work and what wouldn't on my phone

sorry if its been done to death, BTW love my first MB:D

Regards
Nick

Saw a couple of leads that connect from the "socket£ in the console to an iphone on ebay, would these work?

If you could post a picture of the connection that would help identify it

It depends what options your car came with. Your local dealer should give you a print out of your car's spec. If it came with Bluetooth you don't need a cable. The cable tends to be to connect an iPod or equivalent.

Hi and welcome
if you want Bluetooth Hands free from your I5 and have the UHi pre wired phone connector in the arm rest you need one of these Viseoo MB-4 £199 and if you also want to stream music in decent sound quality via Bluetooth you will also require a small BT receiver (£7-12 ish) device as long as you have the AUX connector in the glove box which you more than likely do on that 57 plate, you can have both devices paired at the same time as they use different profiles to connect (coms & Audio) works great for me and no wires everywhere.

Here is a pic of the plug in the centre console and I also found a 3.5mm plug in the glove box
If I plug my iphone into the 3.5mm jack what will work on the phone?

Attachments

• sept 2013 pics 036.jpg
    sept 2013 pics 036.jpg
    236.5 KB · Views: 19
  • sept 2013 pics 037.jpg
    sept 2013 pics 037.jpg
    225.4 KB · Views: 20