I've been offered a free car :-) How to get it home...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

savo

My friend was on Holiday in Southern Ireland at Christmas when his car developed an engine problem which turned out to be from a faulty injector. A local garage then stripped the threads on the injector and has had the car sitting for 5 months. Needless to say my friend has since bought a new car and has kindly offered me the old one if I can make use of it. :)

The car is a 2005 E270 in otherwise good condition, no rust, good service history, garaged at night up until it's recent extended holiday.

My car is a 2003 E220 which I regularly use to tow a fairly large caravan, I've been caravanning for many years and have been licenced since the 1980s. Would I be mad towing it 100 miles home on a trailer with my E220? The combined weight of the car and trailer will be nearly 2500kgs. Obviously it being a one off journey I would drive slowly and make multiple stops etc. 2 local mechanics have said they think it'll be ok & don't understand my concers, but I thought I would also ask here. :) I used to drive a 3.5t lorry and will look onto the possibility of hiring some kind of lorry which could take the car.

Thanks for reading

Andrew

If you have a trailer, I'd say do it.

Yes, what Abs said, do it.. I believe and I may be wrong that you can helicoil the injector threads and your good to go..maybe, put a new injector in as a precaution but otherwise fine..

Update: Just Googled it - yes you can helicoil it.

My friend was on Holiday in Southern Ireland at Christmas when his car developed an engine problem which turned out to be from a faulty injector. A local garage then stripped the threads on the injector and has had the car sitting for 5 months. Needless to say my friend has since bought a new car and has kindly offered me the old one if I can make use of it. :)