Key confusion :@

Discussion in 'Engine' started by dunegold, Sep 7, 2011.

1. dunegold

dunegold Member

Hi all im a newbie :) just become owner of a170 avantgarde 2005
    Anyway sorry for silly question but the key fob thingy that starts the engine ..what happens if it stops working?..does metal key thats tucked into the fob start the ignition as well? Just curious as the metal key looks to slim for the ignition?? Hope someone knows what i mean!.thankyou

2. markjay

markjay MB Club Veteran

Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    The metal key is for emergency access into the vehicle in case the fob does not work (or the car's battery is dead). It will not start the car, for one thing it lacks the required electronics, for second there is no where to put it in on the dashboard...

On some models the metal key also opens/locks the boot and the glove compartment, allowing you to lock away valuables while valet parking (the fob should have the metal key, and this can be quickly detached using the small lever).

So the only safe thing to do is to ensure that you have two fobs, and test both to ensure they work (each fob should have the metal key, and this can be quickly detached using the small elver). If you bought the car with only one key, and the seller can't find the other one, you will need to order a spare key & fob from an MB dealer.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
  3. LocheeLad

LocheeLad Active Member

Car:
    CLK 230 Kompressor Coupe
    To add to Markjay's comments I would also say that a replacement key can be rather expensive!

4. LocheeLad

LocheeLad Active Member

Car:
    CLK 230 Kompressor Coupe
    Oh, just spotted that your question was actually your first ever post, so in time honoured tradition...welcome to the forum :thumb:

5. markjay

markjay MB Club Veteran

Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk