Korrosol,iron x

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Myclk55amg

Car
Mercedes clk 55 amg
I have a bit of a dilemma, I really want to try clay baring my car as I have never done it before but a friend off mine says it's long boring job. Then I've been told about korrosol and iron x just wondered if any of you guys had used either and what your opinion was?

Iron X is great for getting rid of metallic dust, normally from brake pads, by all means give the paintwork a dose of that first - then us a Bilt Hamber clay bar to collect the rest of the muck! What Iron X will not remove is the tar spots - especially on the wheels. You need Tardis or something similar for that.

I used both, Being a Sprayed the Korrosol can get under the door mirrors and in gaps a clay cant reach.

The best results come from all the preparation, Put the effort in and it will pay dividends.

Its like anything else in life, you have to put the hard work in first to get the results i am afraid.
It should take you around 2 hours to clay your car, all depends on the depth of contamination and size of car obviously.
I cannot stress this enough, do not rush the " de-contamination " stage of your paintwork.
After washing the car apply the Korrosol, Iron X or Red 7, follow the instructions carfully then rinse / wash off.
Now close your eyes and feel the paint with your finger tips, some pro detailers like to wear nitrile gloves as it snags on the slightest particles left in the paint.
If the paint still doesnt feel silky smooth it will need claying. A medium abrasive clay bar should suffice at this stage, but it really does depend on the condition of your paint, its usually the lower panels that are the worst as they are subjected to most road fallout.

PS Red 7 for me. Dependent on what you use, allways follow the instructions and dont get it on your cloths as it stinks like hell.