Legal Advice: Breaking Letting Contract Early due to welfare concerns

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Riva811

Car
CL500 Blueefficiency
I am seeking some advice here if someone can offer it, we entered a fixed term letting agreement mid August but we are now concerned over our physical safety due to another tenant renting on the same building who exhibits antisocial behavior, including his guests. An incident with one of the tenants guests has been reported to the met police who advised to contact them on 999 if they show up at our door again. Long story short, I want to leave from here without paying an extra penny and right now.

I'm no legal expert , but begin by stating your concerns , in writing , to your landlord and send by signed for delivery , so it is on record that you have raised this with them .

Spoke with the family lawyer and they advised not to pay rent and report it to the police. He will review the contract and draft a letter asking for compensation as well.

Is your landlord the antisocial tenants landlord also? If not I doubt there is much that your landlord can do.

Reactions: 219
Spoke with the family lawyer and they advised not to pay rent and report it to the police. He will review the contract and draft a letter asking for compensation as well.

why is it the landlord’s responsibility to deal with bad neighbours?

i have not heard of that being the case in a rental agreement

As I understand it the landlord has a duty of care in respect of his tenants, so he is responsible

why is it the landlord’s responsibility to deal with bad neighbours?

i have not heard of that being the case in a rental agreement
I rent out 2 flats which are both in small blocks of 8 flats. If a tenant or flat owner is as the op described I’m certainly not going to offer compo or anything else.

Not paying rent will make you in breach of contract.