Listen to Internet Radio from abroad

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by glojo, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Hi Internet boffins,
    My brother lives in New Zealand but wants to listen to a local UK radio station on the Internet. Unfortunately he gets a message telling him he has been deported to the colonies and cannot access this facility. (or words to that effect :)) Is there a legal way that he can listen to his Lincoln FM? :eek:

    This question reminds me of Defiant's post regarding ITV-F1

    Thanks for any advice

    regards
    John
     
  2. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    I don't know nothing about law but it would be possible for your brother to use yours connection as a proxy :)

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  3. WLeg

    WLeg Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,301
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, Sao Paulo, LAgos, Houston
    Car:
    CT-200h, VW Polo, Rav4,
    Hmmm... I was getting LBC over the net from the USA... I guess it depends on the broadcaster......
     
  4. PJH

    PJH Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,254
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    Feering,Essex
    Car:
    C180k for Wifey, Focus Ecoboost 6 speed
    BBC Essex have had correspondence from people living 'down-under'. Ask your brother to try some other stations.
     
  5. del320

    del320 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,903
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    Near Melrose, Scottish Borders
    Car:
    1996 E320 Coupe
    Has he / have you tried this?

    Click on 'Radio' and pick required station. Lincs FM is p14.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    ESSEX!! :devil: :devil: :D Your tempting me to say something I would not regret :D

    Defiant suffers from a similar problem when trying to log into the ITV site.

    Hi Chris
    I'm as fik as three short planks regarding computah's so how would he use my PC as a proxy please?

    Thanks very much indeed,
    I'll post him your link. I'm tempted to phone him and mention this good news but I doubt he would appreciate it (They are 12 hours in front of us)

    Thanks everyone

    Regards
    John
     
  7. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

    how much you love your brother? it means that your computer will have to stay ON while he wants to listen to the radio ;)
    Or, if you have a Very Good Router (with Linux inside) I could setup a proxy on it ;)

    Also, it could be easier to setup just a VPN on your router :)

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  8. v_j_r

    v_j_r Member

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    North Herts
    Car:
    06-C180 W203 Kompressor Avantgarde Auto Jasper Blue
    Shoutcast!!.:bannana:


    Best Regards.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Hi Chris
    My son tells me we have linux inside the router but to me we are talking a foreign language.

    Our router is a Netgear DG3834PN :eek:

    I'm told that VPN is not very good but don't ask me to explain why as I haven't a clue :eek: :eek: (latency times to New Zealand??) We only have a 2mb Broadband connection. The router is usually left on 24 hours a day, but the computers are switched off at night.

    Regarding the reasons for this request my sister-in-law was always listening to this station on her computer, she wrote an e-mail to a specific show requesting a piece of music for one of her relatives explaining how she lived in New Zealand then a couple of days later she was unable to log onto the site and simply got a generic message stating she was attempting to log onto the site from outside the UK.

    My brother thinks this might be down to the latest licensing type fees are copyright dues? I'm told that local radio stations only pay a national fee for broadcasting and there are different fee's for different requirements. I might be talking a lot of tosh but it does make a little sense and maybe the effluent south east :devil: :devil: ;) (poo) can afford to pay the higher rate? :)

    regards
    John
     
  10. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    Hi John,

    Could you check it again? There is no DG3834PN from netgear as far as I'm aware.

    I think you mean DG834PN? I don't think you can flash it with DD-WRT.
    Anyway, try setting up VPN! It should be OK for a Radio Broadcast.

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  11. OP
    OP
    glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Hi Chris,
    Your nearly spot on,;) my son reckons I have a stuttering typing digit, but I reckon I typed what he said:devil: :D It's a Netgear DG834NP as opposed to your 'PN'

    regards
    John
     
  12. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    John,

    Setup VPN and see what will happen :)
    I think that VPN should be enough for a radio.

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  13. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
  14. OP
    OP
    glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Hi Chris,
    Are you fik or sumfink?
    How many times must you keep on at me before I get this right? :devil: :D (teasing you) :)

    I am totally wrong and you are 100% correct! :eek: :eek:

    In my defence I haven't slept for a couple of days and it looks like my tiny brain is not translating what the ears are hearing!!

    Your right it is PN :eek:

    My son shouted out all the numbers to me, I shouted them back to him to confirm I had it right, but sadly i still got it wrong somehow.

    I am in my own room and the router is in the hallway, so I relied on my son to give me the model number. He insists he gave me the right number and he's far cleverer than me, so I'm guilty as charged and kept getting it wrong :eek: :)

    A Million apologies.

    Regards
    John
     
  15. OP
    OP
    glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Just spoke with my brother,
    All the links that have very kindly been postedare no good. As soon as he attempts to log onto them they 'black-ball' him withe the 'Non UK resident' generic type message.

    It looks like it will have to be Columb's VPN thingie.

    I suggested they try listening to New Zealand local radio but owing to a bad line I never understood the comment about poking something where the sun did not shine:eek: :eek: ;)

    Thanks again for all the advice

    regards
    John
     
  16. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
  17. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    John,

    I wasn't really up yesterday! I should recommend this:

    http://www.expansys.com/p.aspx?i=170005


    For £60 your brother can listen to the radio AND watch freeview TV!
    Of course it needs to be connected at your home to the Broadband and aerial but that shouldn't be a problem?

    Good luck!
    Cheers
    Chris
     
  18. OP
    OP
    glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Thanks for the link, I'll pas it on.

    Regards
    John
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.