Little Hole on bottom of rear view mirror..

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Geoff

Car
2005 C220 CDI Avantgarde SE
Am a newbie here and have just taken delivery of a C220 CDI Avantgarde SE Automatic. I've already upset a few regulars by daring to suggest that I might use an automatic car wash, so hopefully the next question is a bit less contentious !!

I'm trying to figure out what all the various sensors are for heating, lighting, etc but there's one that I can't figure out. On the bottom of the rear view mirror there is a little hole which has a kind of orange light glowing out from it – what is this for ? I am assuming that it's nothing to do with the auto dipping mirror as there is already a little sensor in the mirror glass for this, so what exactly is it for ?

Also, the automatic headlight function is good, but so far I've only ever experience it switch on the dipped headlights, even when it seems relatively bright outside. Should it also activate only the sidelights if the light sensor decides that dipped headlights are not necessary ?

As far as I am aware (on all my W203s I ahve had) when auto lights kicked in the dipped lights would always actiavte and never the small side lights.

The light sensor is located in the windscreen (black box) and so is the rain sensor for the wipes (if u hav ethat option).

The light sensor is quite sensitive (if adjutsed to full sensitivity by the Stealership) which mine is as was replaced not that long ago.

flash

Shows how much I know, as I thought that the light sensor was on the middle of the bonnet, in between the two washer jets. If that one isn't the light sensor, then what is it for ?