Lost ITV & C4 digital channels?

Discussion in 'OT (OFF Topic) Forums' started by BTB 500, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    As above, this evening cannot receive any of the ITV/C4 channels on digital freeview. Analogue is OK, and all the other digital channels.

    Transmitter gone down somewhere?
     
  2. Fandango

    Fandango Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    514
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    If it's all the ITV channels and all the C4 associated ones (ITV 1, 2, 3, CITV, C4, 4+1, More4 etc.) it's Multiplex 2 that's gone wonky on your local transmitter.
    You can normally check online for any scheduled work being carried out.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    There's a bit of broken audio coming through now but no video. All the ITV/C4/C5 channels are like that, but Film4 works??
     
  4. Fandango

    Fandango Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    514
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Film4 is on MuxD.
    Sounds like 2 and A are down on your transmitter.
    Check this list.
     
  5. davidjpowell

    davidjpowell Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Car:
    Range Rover Vogue, Volvo XC60 and crappy Pug 307
    This has also happened in my area over the past couple of weeks. Can't be the same transmitter though!
     
  6. manalishi

    manalishi Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    In my 'officially marginal' Freeview area (Woodbridge near Ipswich), those channels occasionally go AWOL or suffer the severe picture break up. If I check the system info screen I can see huge error rates and other bad news. Sometimes it would clear after an hour or so.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    Still dead today.
     
  8. rf065

    rf065 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,636
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Grossbritannien
    Car:
    SLC300 - C250d Estate 4 Matic & Z900rs
    I had the same problems with channel 5 & Five US for nearly a week, but the last few days they have been fine again.

    Russ
     
  9. grober

    grober MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    26,500
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Car:
    W204 C200CDI Estate
    FREESAT a possibility? No Channel 5 unless you go for FREESAT FROM SKY of course. RECEPTION is the same for both as they both use the Astra 2D satellite.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    We don't have a dish, so no Freesat.
     
  11. alanuk400

    alanuk400 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Belfast NI
    Car:
    Jaguar XJ-L x351
    Try Auto tuning (Re booting), as if you had just bought it & installed it.

    Alan
     
  12. grober

    grober MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    26,500
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Car:
    W204 C200CDI Estate
    Sorry Bill I was suggesting that you might consider getting one if you are often going to be bothered with some stations dropping out. Its probably the only way to get HD in the near future if that's of interest.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    Yup we'll probably get Freesat at some point as the TV is 1080p. Never lost any channels before, so it doesn't seem to be a regular occurence! May try the re-tune later if still not back.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    Well, still no Freeview ITV/C4/C5 channels. Re-tuned ... no difference ... Crystal Palace seems to be the transmitter.

    The website posted in #2 is a BBC one and shows no issues (which is true, the BBC channels are fine). I can't find any equivalent for ITV?
     
  15. Fandango

    Fandango Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    514
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Try entering your postcode etc in the Digitaluk site to see what kind of service you should be getting. As part of the switchover to digital a lot of changes are being made, so it may just be temporary.
    Also check Freeview for faults, there's a number (0870 I'm afraid) where you can get more up-to-date info.

    Best of luck!
    Karl
     
  16. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    DigitalUK shows low power at Crystal Palace on Mux 2 & A (and maximum power on everything else) :(

    Wife had to watch Neighbours on analogue yesterday!
     
  17. Fandango

    Fandango Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    514
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    That'll be your problem then ;)
    You may need an aerial upgrade then, as Berkshire is quite a way away from Crystal Palace for good reception.
    Check if the power change is permanent first though.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    Thanks.

    The aerial is pretty new and a reasonable one AFAIK?

    [​IMG]

    Not had any problems at all in the 2 years we've been here. Hopefully this is just a temporary power reduction!
     
  19. OP
    OP
    BTB 500

    BTB 500 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,440
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
    Got this for my postcode on DigitalUK
    So a different aerial and Hannington might be worth a try if this goes on.
     
  20. imadoofus

    imadoofus Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,859
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Car:
    This and that.
    Have you tried / can you try another STB?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.