Low wide tyres and snow

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mjbarnard

I have an E class automatic (07). It is the Sport version so has particularly low fat tyres (265/35 on the rears). Today I had real trouble on the roads in West London, and slipped and slid several times before giving up and returning home. (I am a doctor and my journey was pretty genuine).

Nothing new there - but the thing that puzzled me was the difficulty I had seemed out of proportion to other road users. After reading a similar thread from Fabes, I am curious. Several people have alluded to the risks and difficulties of using low wide tyres in snow. Why is this? Apologies for ignorance but why does a wider tyre not have more grip rather than less?

I understand I am in a big auto with rear wheel drive - and that this will be hazardous in extreme conditions. Just curious why the tyre specs might make this more so?

Big wide tyre spreads the load and so doesn't dig into the snow like a narrow tyre

If you look at WRC cars when they drive on snow, they run skinny tyres (like spacesaver tyres), so the tyre can dig through the snow to find grip. Wide tyres sit on top of he snow like snow shoes. Its all to do with weight distribution

Low fat tyres are generally high performance tyres & were never designed to go anywhere near snow.

For example, a winter tyre has a tread pattern that widens towards the rear of the tread block, this throws any snow or slush out of the tread to ensure it is clear at all times. Your tyres will simply fill the tread with snow & become as usefull as a slick tyre.

Modern winter tyres will also be made of a rubber compound that stays pliable in cold weather and able to grip or key into the road surface, your tyres will become hard due to the cold & ride on top of the road surface offering less grip.