LSD not required?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

H20 MRV

Car
RS4
Hi All,

I have taken my 507 and now my 2012 C63 coupe to the limits on highland roads and had no problems with grip or drive at all,
And as I will never take the car on a track what's the advantage of a LSD?

I have no experience of this....But after speaking with Andy (Eurocharged) at Trax this year he told Suky Sanga to fit one to his CLS and that it would transform the car.

Tony.

Hi All,

I have taken my 507 and now my 2012 C63 coupe to the limits on highland roads and had no problems with grip or drive at all,

Tested in the wet?

Hi All,

Classic case of the car out performing the driver ?

:p

Drive one with an LSD and then come back and tell us what differences you find.

Grip is the main one. Mine was OK without it but, as mentioned above by Tony, it transforms the car. Even for road use coming out of side streets and joining traffic, I used to get loads of wheelspin with the traction light being practically a permanent feature.

And as for the wet, it was practically undriveble if you wanted to make progress.

I don't drive like an idiot (hopefully, and in my opinion) though do like to plod on a bit where road and traffic conditions allow, and with the diff (Quaife) in it allows the car to be driven as it should be. I can't remember the last time the traction light came on (OK, not trying hard enough :D ) but the car just seems so much more planted now.

Try having a run in one with LSD fitted and you'll definitely notice a difference.

Quaife made a big difference for mine especially in the wet , just made it more predictable

Hi All,

Main thing you will notice is how little you feel the ESP cut in, both straight line and more importantly coming out of bends. Confidence grows very quickly as you get to feel so much more grip allowing greater control of the throttle. Many have said the car feels more balanced.