M271 Timing chain/other alarming issues

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MunroC180

Car
Mercedes C180K
How we going guys, i'm a newbie here and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction regarding timing chain issues. Let me set the scene.

My car is a C180K 05 with roughly 69000miles on the clock. Upon hearing suspicious noises that sounded like the timing chain upon startup and weirdly when going around roundabouts or long corners, i took the car to my local garage, it was very difficult to recreate the sound, because once the car had started it would run fine until you drove it. Usually you would have to accelerate and come to an abrupt stop for it to make the noise. When he heard the noise he confirmed it sounds like the timing chain and should be replaced as well as cam adjusters and the lot! Not much change from £1000 he said.

Turns out he never actually diagnosed it he just based this on the sounds it was making, i refused the offer, took the car home and diagnosed it myself, it turns out the adjusters look in pretty good shape, unless anyone disagrees? the timing chain does seem to have a little slack in it, but more alarming was the absolute mess of the valve cover and cams etc. The car as FSH and for what it's worth i'm changing the oil tomorrow. Does anyone have any recommendations on this mess? I tried to clean some of it, but fearing I was causing more damage than good by getting debris in to delicate parts I stopped and put it all back together, thinking of getting the chain sorted then selling it or am I just being paranoid?

Attachments

• Cam adjusters.jpg
    Cam adjusters.jpg
    223.9 KB · Views: 139
  • Sludge.jpg
    Sludge.jpg
    240.6 KB · Views: 149
Jesus Christ how did that mess happen. Looks like filter failure or wrong oil. Not sure what else explains that mess