M42 and M6....what's with the cameras? (or lack of)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ptruman

Car
No longer a Merc!
Lo!

I've been driving the M6 (J5 to J1) and M42 (J8 to J3) for nearly the last 20 years. I have watched the M6 Toll get added in, and the introduction of HADECS/variable speed limits etc.

In the last 2 weeks, all (and I mean all) the gantry mounted GATSOs on the M42 have gone. The only things visibly left are the HADECS 3 cameras on a few gantries - which are harder to spot unless you know what you're looking for (as clearly some don't, judging by the flashing...)

Conversely, on the M6 from J5 all the way through J2, they are adding in "managed motorways" - but no GATSOs - this stretch is all now (or going to be) SPECS (average speed camera) monitored. These ones are much more obvious to spot, as they are massive and yellow. Going the other way, just before the J4 on ramp and approach to J5 exit, there is a HADECS 3 as well.

So, presumably GATSO is being retired, and we're all going to enjoy ever more camera coverage?

HADEC are easy to spot, before the HADEC there is a pole with 3 smaller mounted cameras on the left side. Look for those.

Also, use WAZE to be alerted to them

I noticed the same on the M1, all the grey boxes on the overhead gantries have gone, in favour of fewer yellow boxes on the side. Waze is good for warning of them.

Conversely, on the M6 from J5 all the way through J2, they are adding in "managed motorways" - but no GATSOs - this stretch is all now (or going to be) SPECS (average speed camera) monitored. These ones are much more obvious to spot, as they are massive and yellow. Going the other way, just before the J4 on ramp and approach to J5 exit, there is a HADECS 3 as well.

So, presumably GATSO is being retired, and we're all going to enjoy ever more camera coverage?

Currently have average cameras here with 2 years projected for the works to be completed. Nightmare!