MB dealers changed oil suppliers ?!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kay7

Car
C180k Avantgarde Sports Pack
Went today to my local MB dealer to buy 1L Mobil1 5w-40 fully synth oil and was told : " we don-t do it anymore due to recent technical faults. We use now Shell oil "

That doesn`t sound right to me ... Why did say that !? Im not a mechanic and even refuse to know about these things BUT " recent faults" was a bit harsh. Anyway I went everywhere : Halfords- no, Asda-no, Tesco- no , Costco- no, Makro - no and few other shops - no( spent 4 hours ). That is strange. Have they stopped making this oil ? or its just me ?! I have to top up as i`m in between services( 5800k miles left ).
What do you advise me !? Shall i keep trying to find this oil ? Or do I go for a new oil change ?! It probably won`t make any difference if i top up with a different oil ( ie Castrol Edge or Shell V plus ).

Each dealer uses all kinds of makes. My local one uses Castrol.

Went today to my local MB dealer to buy 1L Mobil1 5w-40 fully synth oil and was told : " we don-t do it anymore due to recent technical faults. We use now Shell oil "

That doesn`t sound right to me ... Why did say that !? Im not a mechanic and even refuse to know about these things BUT " recent faults" was a bit harsh. Anyway I went everywhere : Halfords- no, Asda-no, Tesco- no , Costco- no, Makro - no and few other shops - no( spent 4 hours ). That is strange. Have they stopped making this oil ? or its just me ?! I have to top up as i`m in between services( 5800k miles left ).
What do you advise me !? Shall i keep trying to find this oil ? Or do I go for a new oil change ?! It probably won`t make any difference if i top up with a different oil ( ie Castrol Edge or Shell V plus ).

Any oil that meets the correct MB spec for your car will be fine.