"Mercedes-Benz Accident Management Service"

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RaceDiagnostics

Car
450SL XK8
Has anyone got recent experience of using this service? Someone ran into the rear of my 450SL today while I was stationary.

Unbelievable, cars only been back on the road for eight weeks after a three year restoration.

I can only imagine your disappointment at this unfortunate turn of events. I would assume this service would be contracted out to one of the many accident management companies out there albeit one that has been vetted by MB? I always smile when they insist the car will be repaired at an MB "approved" body repair shop because that may give the wrong impression that the repair is performed by MB themselves rather than contracted out. I imagine repairing a 450SL is far from routine so tread carefully! I have no experience of this service personally sorry.

I would assume this service would be contracted out to one of the many accident management companies out there albeit one that has been vetted by MB? I always smile when they insist the car will be repaired at an MB "approved" body repair shop because that may give the wrong impression that the repair is performed by MB themselves rather than contracted out.

I'd go with Graeme's take on this.

Around 8 years ago, I went to a M-B dealership for body repairs with a 210 and was directed to an approved repairer that I still use to this day.
They are (if a little pricey) fantastic.

That said, the same 210 had two new front wings under M-B corrosion warranty and I was disappointed with the work, because the wings didn't match the rest of the paintwork. Not a huge difference, but it was evident. No blending because M-B were footing the bill.