Mercedes C Class estate 250td windows not working

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

dodgy26

Car
Mercedes C Class Estate 250TD
Hi to everyone,
I have just purchased an old 1998 C class estate 250TD, It looks and runs great and I will post some pictures soon, I have a problem with the windows and mirrors, Firstly none of the windows or mirrors work from the centre console, I have had a look at the console and I can only see 1 small wiring harness that clips to the back of the switches, I think there are only 4/5 wires, The rear windows work fine from the passenger rear window switches, as I am new to the Mercedes world any information would be gratefully accepted, just to say my car has done 200,000 miles and drives like a dream.
Thank you
Regards
Dave :thumb:

Hi there i had a similar problem with my w202 wen I first got it ,all seemed well with the wiring so I removed switches from facia panel gave gave it good spray with wd40 and left it to soak in for a few hours (I suspect yrs of dirt ,grit and poss a spillage of some sort had taken there toll) anyway put it all back together that was 90k and 2 yrs ago still working fine

Hi Hondo,
Thank you for your reply, I will give it a go, I have tried everything I can think of, I sprayed the electrical contact on the centre console but I will leave it too soak, I was going to buy a new console but don't want to spend a fortune to find out it wasn't that part,Everything seems ok as there is power to the console,There is only one wiring loom attached.
Thanks again will post a reply tommorrow
Regards
Dave :)

ill see if I still have mine from my scrapper.

the switchgear comes apart quite easily for cleaning, theres a sliding clip that releases a lot of it...

Hi,