Mercedes software

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by mykaitch, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. mykaitch

    mykaitch Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Reading, Berks
    Car:
    2013 C180SE fully loaded
    Why is Merc (Renesas) software such total crap ?
    Was it written by lads on work experience?
    Bought my new C Class last year, upgraded it to command on line.
    Plug in ipod. Some artwork there, most not.
    The artwork is stored on the hard drive --what total prat thought of that?
    It is stupid: if you change atwork on the ipod it WILL not update the HD.
    You cannot edit the HD or delete artwork.
    You can load some artwork via the USB.
    This is all complete crap! I has an Alpine before that never failed to show artwork --and it has no HD.
    Artwork is embedded in the track but the software is unable, most times, to read it. CRAP CRAP CRAP.
    Do you know who RENESAS are? Some tin-pot cowboys in a lock-up?
    NO! There are HITATCHI. Get a grip and do a decent update, and fire the lot who wrote the last dodgy code.:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::fail
     
  2. BlackC55

    BlackC55 Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    18,315
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Horndean, Portsmouth, Hampshire, Southsea
    Car:
    C43 AMG with a 55 engine and supercharger, MK1 Caddy, S500, etc
    I take it you are not happy?
     
  3. John

    John MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,114
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    CL500
    Lol - and relax.

    They aren't Hitachi.

    They were HMSE (Hitachi Micro Systems Europe) mixed with the equivalent arm of Mitsubishi, albeit a lesser percentage, formed to create Renesas in 2003.

    Then I think they merged with NEC more recently and are a large corporation.

    They write a lot of the software used in automotive and mobile markets and have done for well over a decade now.

    I can't comment on the quality of their software mind but their USB3 chipset works well and I doubt they'd be used in cars if crap...?

    :D
     
  4. wongl

    wongl Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    739
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Car:
    A180CDI x3, C300h
    I suspect it is mostly down to the software requirements specified (or lack of) ...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.