Micro$oft Vi$ta discussion

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by scotth_uk, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. scotth_uk

    scotth_uk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,570
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney
    Car:
    Renault
    Anyone else playing with Vista yet?

    I've had a good tinker with Beta2 and RC1 so far, on real machines and in virtual machines. Beta2 was a bit of a dog, but RC1 almost looks interesting.

    My only concern is that Vista doesn't really offer me anything new. I have had a good play with it, and for the money I can't see why I should upgrade. Sure, it looks pretty but that's not enough.

    Microsoft list the following:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/experiences/default.mspx
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/features/default.mspx

    So, maybe it's:
    • A more stable product
    • Better with digital media, where we used external products before
    • Better at searching/finding, where we used external products before
    • More secure, where we used external products before

    I say big deal! Vista is NOT cheap, and a lot of current hardware will need to be upgraded. Software costs between 155 and 325 pounds for not a lot extra.

    Also, some people trawling the new licences have spotted the following interesting points:

    • Vista licences can only be moved to another machine ONCE
    • Vista Home versions cannot be run inside virtual machines
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2006
  2. SEM

    SEM MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tamworth, Staffs
    Car:
    2007 C220 CDi SPORT & E350 Coupe Sport
    I'm not going to touch it for at least 2 more years, when XP came out it made 70% of my work software redundant for 6 months until everything got patched. Was it used on one of those 3d touch screens i've seen in an earlier post?
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2006
  3. masqueraid

    masqueraid Active Member

    Messages:
    911
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Car:
    E220 CDi & A170CDi
    I'm sulking - still haven't had my copy of the release candidate :(
     
  4. OP
    OP
    scotth_uk

    scotth_uk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,570
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney
    Car:
    Renault
    Masqueraid,

    Did you order on dvd? Downloading is very simple.
     
  5. masqueraid

    masqueraid Active Member

    Messages:
    911
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Car:
    E220 CDi & A170CDi
    Yes, I was on the Beta1 program. M$ UK emailed & promised they'd post one out as soon as it was announced ... still waiting :(

    Will eventually get 'round to downloading the ISO

    (Especially as the alternative now is a £7 'admin' fee for the boxed version!)

    Have two test boxes up at the moment one with VistaBeta/Office2007
    one with Fedora/OpenOffice
     
  6. agatward

    agatward Active Member

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Reading, Berks.
    Car:
    A150 SE
    RC2 won't even bloody install on my PC... sits there in an infinite reboot cycle despite all hardware being updated with latest firmware and all being listed as fully supported.

    RC1 worked fine. Grr.
     
  7. Flyer

    Flyer MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Car:
    Ford Mustang GT
    I'm waiting until gold code, then putting in new proc/mb/gfx for it on my dev PC.

    Anyone going to one of the EVO roadshows? I'm going to the Manchester one on 8 November.
     
  8. GregE240

    GregE240 Active Member

    Messages:
    952
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, UK
    Car:
    1990 500SL
    I've had Beta2 and RC1 installed on a second hard disk for this laptop (Pentium M, 1GB RAM, 64MB GPU).

    It sucks. Its soooo slow (RC1 included), the worryingly the lack of drivers so near to RTM scares me - I had to fudge Netgear XP drivers to get wireless working (you know Netgear - that 2 bob obscure networking company nobodys ever heard of).

    A lot of the visual treats simply will not switch on for this laptop, so it seems you will really need a bunch of new hardware to get it to run half decently.

    And it pages. My God, it pages - the hard disk light is on almost continuously, yet I've no idea why.

    Oh, and mobile device support - even in RC1 - is woeful.

    RC1 should have been Beta3 as it still very much a WIP - not as much as B2 was (entire pieces of code missing), but for a Microsoft product to be this poor (my opinion) so close to RTM, concerns me. A lot.
     
  9. Flyer

    Flyer MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Car:
    Ford Mustang GT
    Interesting article on Datamation about this.

    Think this is going to cause quite a few problems :crazy:
     
  10. OP
    OP
    scotth_uk

    scotth_uk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,570
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney
    Car:
    Renault
    Not wrong!

    Dopey b*stards.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    scotth_uk

    scotth_uk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,570
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney
    Car:
    Renault
  12. Birdman

    Birdman Active Member

    Messages:
    908
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Oxford, Oxfordshire
    Car:
    E55 & Phaeton
    FWIW if Vista runs inside a virtual machine how does it know if the PC's been upgraded or not?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.